Back To It

Vacation has been so wonderful. I’m really not ready to face going back to work. Though I am inordinately glad to be home. We have one last overnight trip to pick up our dogs before we’re home for at least three weeks. Haha, you can’t keep a restless couple home. 


I’m also back to LSAT studying. As much as I hoped to only take it once, I’m not satisfied with my score from the June test. Ha. That’s an understatement. I cried over it (I also cried over an 87 on a test in college, so…) and I was very unhappy. The score itself isn’t remotely close to a bad score. I’m still well within the top 20% of the country. I’m also aware that there are people who would love to have the score I’m not happy with. But I can do better. 

Unfortunately, all of the LA testing centers are already full for the September test, so I don’t get to try again until December. But I’ve already gotten back to studying. I want a minimum of a 9 point improvement, so I’ve got some work to do. 

Honestly, while I’m disappointed in myself, I’m not surprised. I’ve been under a lot of stress, including have a difficult visitor during the two weeks prior to my test.  I was not close to my best and I will need to be for the score I want. This will give me something to do this Fall that will help toward my future goals. And it will fill my Thursdays so I don’t go insane from traffic. 

Work starts back up for me this week. A lighter than normal load thanks to summer. While I’ll miss the higher paycheck, I’m glad I get to ease back in. B has two cycles to work before he leaves for a month to do his military time. It’s going to be a busy summer for us. 

And, finally I’m ready to get back to half-marathon training. I gained five pounds over vacation, probably not all real gain. But, there’s been too many meals out and not enough miles run or weight lifted. We hit the gym this morning and I have a long run tomorrow, I’m already feeling more like myself. These last few weeks have been wonderful, but I’m ready to get back to normal life. 

How’s your summer going? 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

