This and That

I’ll skip the lamenting over how long it’s been. I’ve spent a huge chunk of this year in a funk and blogging has been too much work. But like a moth to the flame, I just can’t quit. 


We just spent a week in Cancun and it was amazing. It was our first all-inclusive and we loved it. We did one excursion out to Chichen Itza and otherwise we ran on the beach, drank in the hot tub bar, and ate way too much sushi. I’ll do a full recap soon. 


The whole trip we kept getting asked if we were on our honeymoon. Not just by employees, who are probably trained to ask – but by fellow travelers. They were always astonished to hear that we’ll hit seven years this summer. Our relationship isn’t always easy, whose is? But it is always good. 


I haven’t seen my puppies in ten days. And the earliest I’ll see them is still another nine days away. I miss them. We took the opportunity of them being gone to do a deep vacuum and mopping combo on the whole house. It looks so nice. But dog hair is still turning up. I guess we’ll never be free of it. 


I turned 32 earlier this month. It passed with very little fanfare, which was fine by me. I’m still loving myself more every day and enjoying my thirties a lot. I’ve never been in better shape or happier with myself. The bigger deal to me is that I took the LSAT right after my birthday. And I’m planning to apply to law school this fall. I needed a change and this just feels right. I’m in the horrid wait period for getting scores back and am really hoping that I hit my goal. 


After a terrible interaction with Fitbit regarding the warranty on my Surge, I decided right before we went to Cancun that I was done with Fitbit. In just under 18 months I’ve been through three Charge HRs and in 10 months my Surge had already fallen apart. Then Fitbit told me they wouldn’t honor the warranty because they now have authorized retailers and the store I bought it from wasn’t one of them. So today I went out and got an Apple Watch. I want a watch for running, but I wanted it to be a smart watch too. I’ve only had it for a couple of hours but I’m already impressed with it.  

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This and That

  1. Man, disappointed to hear about so many negative interactions with FitBit. Yikes! I’m SO excited to hear that you’re hoping to head to law school, though. Can’t wait to see what’s next.

    • I was so bummed by their response. I’m really sad to not have a Fitbit anymore as I love the social side of it a lot. My whole family uses one and they’re always doing challenges.

      I’m so excited about making this change toward law school. I’ll be retaking the LSAT in December and will start my applications shortly thereafter. I can’t believe I’m voluntarily going back to school in my 30s.

Leave a Reply

