2017: A Year of Intentional Living

img_7157Last year was the first year that I picked a word that I wanted to encompass my entire year. That word was joy. And what a great word it turned out to be for this last year. Even when things were hard, I was seeking the joy in the situation.

This year, my word is intentional. I want to be deliberate in my life choices in 2017. I left too many things to chance and happenstance in 2016, and I want to make sure that I get the most out of my 2017.

I want to be intentional in how I spend my off time. I want to spend less time mindlessly browsing the internet and more time reading, knitting, and creating.

I want to be intentional in my health. More running and more lifting. I have mileage goals and lifting goals that I want achieved this year. More cooking, less eating out. When we do eat out, I want it to be because we want to eat the food and not because nothing sounds good but at least it’s fast. Less drinking. This probably deserves it’s own post, but I’m ready to cut back my alcohol consumption in the New Year. Here’s to more early morning runs and less hangovers.

I want to be intentional in exploring. More new places, more deliberate choices of getting out there. Less sitting at home saying I don’t know, what do you want to do. More adventure is my goal all around. We live in an amazing world and I’m ready to keep exploring it.

I want to be intentional in my friendships. I want to take more time to put myself out there. I have my second book club meeting in two weeks and I’m looking forward to getting out there again. I want to spend time cultivating the friendships I already have and to dedicate time toward finding new friends.

I want to be intentional in my relationship. It’s too easy to let things slide when you live together. I want more date nights and less going to bed realizing we wasted a whole day. I don’t mean we can’t choose to spend a day being lazy and doing nothing, but I want us to deliberately choose that and not just fall into it.

That’s really how I feel about 2017. I want to deliberately choose things and not just fall into them.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2017: A Year of Intentional Living

  1. Kate says:

    This is about where I’m at, too. Always happy to check in/chat if you need somebody to help hold you accountable! Good luck this year. xoxo

    • That would be great! And fits in nicely with being intentional in how I’m living this year. Rather than just hoping I accidentally end up having a good year come December.

Leave a Reply

