Hopes Dashed

Back in June, I found an incredible opportunity for a new job. I was so excited. I busted my butt on updating my resume and cover letter. I did a phone interview the day after I had my wisdom teeth removed and I nailed it. I was one of two candidates chosen for an in person interview.

I let myself dream. Moving back into non-profit, but still working with music. Regular hours, vacation pay, benefits. I was so excited. As my students headed out for vacations, I made sure they knew how much I enjoyed teaching them. Just in case I didn’t come back.

The final interview was amazing. I felt great. My only knock was a lack of management experience, but I still felt really good.

And then I didn’t get the job.

To say I was disappointed was an understatement. I cried about it for the next week. I had let myself dream. Dream of what we could accomplish if I was fully employed. Dream of the people I could reach in my new position. Dream of something different and new.

It took a bit of time for me to not resent going to teach. I had thought I was moving on to the next step. When, instead, I was still where I ever was. It was probably my toughest moment all year.

I do love teaching. But I also still wish for what might have been. I’m working toward building my resume to that which can help me transition down the line.

As I’m looking back on 2016, this was a pivotal moment for me. The reality is that I want to do more than just teach. So, I’ll keep working and see where I end up.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hopes Dashed

  1. San says:

    So sorry the job didn’t work out :(

Leave a Reply

