Reflection

As I geared up to run after work tonight, I stopped by our guest bedroom to dig out my husband’s old reflective belt from his military days. It’s dark out well before I finish teaching, so I want to be extra safe on night time runs. I watched the Christmas lights as I ran, smiling a bit every time they reflected off of the belt.

I still miss the community from doing Reverb every December. I miss the connection of shared prompts and finding the stories from the last year. Some of my closest blog friends popped up because of Reverb10. Of course, I was also depressed as hell at the time and my stories focused on the darkness of what was actually a wonderful year.

I’ve searched for prompts for myself this year. I haven’t found any that resonated. 2016 has been a hard year for a lot of people. But it’s also been an amazing year too. And I want to focus on the light, the dark, and everything in between.

I want to spend the last month of this year, reflecting on what has been and projecting what I want for the next year. Prompted/guided/accompanied or not, I’m going to go find my story to tell.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

