seventeen

Today’s prompt is about the hardest lesson I’ve learned from having pets. 

I’ve written before about my rescue, Sam. We adopted her in Turkey. But the truth is that she rescued me. I struggled so much in Turkey with depression and rescuing this pathetic dog saved my life. 

She joined us in North Dakota where I feared for her because her hips clearly started troubling her. I debated long and hard about genetic testing for a particular disorder and decided against it. I cried so many tears about her potential fate. 

Then we moved to LA. And she just couldn’t deal. The stairs exacerbated her hips. The windows were always open so she freaked out constantly. So I cried a lot more. And then we did the best thing we could for her. 

We rehomed her. 

It hurt so much. I sobbed over the decision. I stayed up all night just petting her. It was one of the hardest and worst things I’ve ever done. I failed my promise to her. I didn’t keep her forever. 

And it was absolutely the right thing to do. 

Sometimes you have to make the choice about what’s better for someone else rather than what you want to do. Sometimes you have to break yourself to take care of someone else. Sometimes you have to admit you can’t fix everything. Sometimes love hurts. 

Sam taught me to love. She still loves me every time I come visit. She taught me to put what was best for her before what I wanted. She taught me to always adapt and make the best of life. She’s thriving with my inlaws and loves them like only a dog can love their human. She taught me to let go of someone you love when it’s what best for them. 

It’s one of the harder lessons I’ve ever had to learn. And I’m so grateful she was my teacher. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

