two

Today has been an expensive day.

Holidays around our house have always been very understated. B has worked more holidays since I’ve met him than he has had off. Last year he had Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve off and that was more than we’d ever had before. This year he’ll be working every single holiday.

Yesterday my boss emailed me asking my thoughts for running our winter session from Jan 10-Mar 25 or Jan 3-Mar 18. I chose the former. I also immediately started dreaming of what to do with an extra week off at the start of the year. I queried B and we started looking up cruises and all-inclusives. It’s been five years since we vacationed just us.

This morning we booked a cruise. Just four days out of LA. But four days of just us together. I’m not even sure that I realize how excited I am. I don’t care about the destinations, just about having a few days to completely relax with my husband. And we’ll be able to make it work because he works holidays. It’s a pretty fair exchange in my book.

In case booking a cruise weren’t enough for the day, I also booked tickets home. My younger brother is bringing his significant other home for the holidays. And I want to meet her. And my husband will be working the holiday weekend. So now I get to spend a wonderfully magic Christmas at home with my family. And then go on a perfect getaway with my husband. It will be the perfect way to end one year and begin the next.

Do you have any holiday traditions? Do they beat always working them?

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to two

  1. San says:

    Oh yay, that sounds like the perfect compromise! I wish I was going home for the holidays, but it’s not going to happen… for the THIRD year in a row. I can’t even…. I never thought that I would be able to not go home for the holidays, but here we are.

    • I haven’t been home for actual Christmas Day since 2009. I never thought I would be there either. It’s hard to go home alone, but I’ll take that over not getting to go at all.

Leave a Reply

