Say Cheese

I called my Mom on the holiday. Same as I always do – late enough that I knew most people were gone from their house so we could have a chance to chat. I asked, as was my usual, if they had taken a photo. My mom cussed because yet again they had forgotten. We had just decided we would go home for my dad’s upcoming 70th birthday, so I promised her that we would take a picture while I was there. And then my brain started running.

family

Back at the beginning of the year, I got B to agree that we would do professional photos this year. Besides our wedding photos and one picture from a family shoot with his family, we didn’t have any professional pictures of us. What I realized after my conversation with my mom, was that my family doesn’t have any professional photos of all of us. None of us have made every wedding. And, I think it’s important for families to have professional photos that don’t involve wedding dresses.

lovey-dovey

Thus started my search for a photographer to do family photos for my dad’s birthday. And my mom’s. And their anniversary. Basically, I wanted us to have the ultimate pictures taken. I quickly roped my siblings in, to make sure we would all be home. My parents were looped in as well to help do the coordinating. All I wanted was to capture us as we really are. No crazy extras, just us.

img_7211We grabbed in my aunts and an uncle, because they are family too. And we went out to the river to take some pictures. I’ve cried over these pictures. I’ve laughed. They are the best thing we’ve ever done. No matter what I do for my folks, I’ll never top this gift.

img_7286My niece and nephew stole the show. I mean, do you really think kids would do otherwise? The rest of us just took a back seat. And beamed. I think we were all glowing that day. Because really, this is the best thing we’ve ever done. If you’ve ever thought about doing family photos, I’m telling you – DO IT. Especially casual ones. Just capture your family as it always is, that’s the way you want to remember them.

img_7303We never got to do engagement photos, seeing as we were only engaged for ten days before we got married. These photos make me smile, because it is us as we always are. I’m incredibly grateful for being able to share this experience with our family. If you’ve been wondering about doing casual photos, I’m the biggest fan of it. And if you’re wondering about it in the San Antonio, TX area, hit me up, because our photographer was awesome.

 

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

