Five for Friday, v. 37

I’m not going to pretend the last month has been anything other than a rollercoaster. It was tough while B was gone, great to be in Texas, tough to leave, great to spend time with a friend, and now we’re diving headlong into opposite shift schedules. Mostly I’m glad the big separation is behind us for another year. Maybe next year I’ll have better coping mechanisms in place. 


one We had the final set of shutters installed while B was gone. We diy’ed the majority of the house, but these three windows were in the stairwell of the second to third floor and we deemed them too high to do on our own. It was totally worth it to pay for installation. And I’m so glad we have them. They help keep the house cooler and it’s nice to not worry about anyone staring in after dark. 


two Loki stayed with my inlaws starting Labor Day weekend. And my gosh was it too quiet around here without him. That last week at home was the worst by far and I think the biggest factor there was being completely alone. We were so ready to get him back that we made the four hour round trip to get him the day after we flew back from Texas. It was chaos but we sure were glad to get him back. 


three Speaking of puppies and chaos, we adopted a new puppy yesterday. His name is Thor and he’s an eight week old golden retriever. We weren’t really planning on bringing home another dog, but he stole our hearts and our brains at the same time. He’s adorable and I can’t wait to spend more time with him. 


four It’s been a rough couple of weeks for running. Texas and it’s humidity took it out of me. Then we came home and visited with a friend which involved more alcohol and less sleep than it should have. We won’t touch the SoCal heatwave. It’s hot for us and that’s our only frame of reference. Finally, night shift has always screwed up my runs. But, my theme is no excuses so it’s time to get back at it. No matter what. 


five It’s been absolutely magical having this guy back home. I missed him a lot. Having my partner in crime back is the best. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

