Lean


I used to be a strong, independent woman. I spent my days working and my nights out with friends. And then I met B. When we dated long distance, we both still maintained a lot of independence. That was easy since we were on opposite ends of the country most of the time. 


Six years of marriage with at least six different places called home later, we’ve learned to lean. We rely on each other. We consider each other when making decisions. Which isn’t to say we’ve always gotten it right. 


While we lived overseas, our codependency was unhealthy. We had all the same friends, did everything together, and honestly it just wasn’t healthy. We both know that. I do think we’ve found a balance now. We lean on each other, but we aren’t trying to be everything for each other. 


Which is to say that this next month is going to be tough. He’s out of town for the next 25 days (26 counting today, but I’m the only one doing that). I have good plans in place, but it’s hard to not have my partner in crime. We lean really well, time to see how we do on our own for a month. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

