Five for Friday, v. 36

Well, B is a week in to his two months off of regular work. And we’ve got just over a week left until he’s gone for a month. We’re trying to squeeze in as much as we can before he heads off to Colorado. 


one We headed down to Huntington Dog Beach this morning for a run and some fun. Loki loves this beach. I, typically, kind of hate it for running. We haven’t gone in quite some time, but I always feel slow and like every step is a fight. Today we changed two things up, first we went later so that the tide was further out and second, we ran barefoot. It made such a difference. We’ll pretend that’s what did it and not the last couple of months of training. 


two Loki and I hung out on the patio this week while B was inside with a contractor taking care of our last big house expense. At least until I decide I really do want quartz countertops. We installed plantation shutters on all but four windows last year. The patio doors have curtains and there were three windows in the second floor stairwell that we just let be. Now that the neighbor units are finished we’ve decided we want them done. And, since we would need at least a 22 foot ladder to reach the top window, we’re letting the professionals do this one. 


three I’ve had a rough few weeks. I applied for an awesome job and made it to the final interview round as one of two candidates. And then didn’t get it. I think this is the first time I’ve ever not gotten a job. I’ve been struggling a bit with teaching motivation since then. Yesterday, I received a boost in the form of a strange compliment. A student’s relative is an adjudicator for a testing system and they determined that he’s well advanced for his age/study time and must have an awesome teacher. I’m super grateful the mom decided to pass this on to me. It definitely helped me get my groove back. 

four This dog, y’all. He really is all about that water. Today he was all over the ocean, jumping waves and then running from them. Last Sunday he was not pleased when our trails only let him see the water. Sometimes I feel guilty that he doesn’t have a pool here at home, then I’m glad that I don’t have to constantly have a wet dog. 

five As I mentioned above, B is heading out next week. He’s off to serve his active duty commitment for the USAF Reserves. I am not looking forward to it. Plus, when he gets back he’ll have roughly two weeks before he transitions back to night shift. The last round of nights was super rough on us as a couple. We’re working hard to enjoy the time we have before he’s gone and also set things up for a better outcome when he goes back on nights. In a way, I’m glad the other job fell through as my hours are much more flexible now. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five for Friday, v. 36

  1. san says:

    Yay for running on the beach.

    And I am sorry you didn’t get the job (are you trying to go back to 9-5?), but the validation as a teacher is priceless!

    • It’s less about going back to 9-5 and more about going back to full time with benefits and the like. I love what I do, but I essentially free-lance without the extra benefits.

Leave a Reply

