Discover: Palos Verdes Nature Preserve


One of my favorite things to do is explore. When we lived overseas, a huge part of my identity was wrapped up in our travels. I loved planning, taking, and remembering our trips. Moving back to the US has been hard because we don’t travel as much as we did when we lived in Europe. It takes more effort to explore close to home. 


My friend Kate is my inspiration. She explores Cleveland what seems like every weekend. She’s made me want to visit it. Even more, she makes me want to explore where I live as fully as she does her home.  


This past Sunday, we hit up the Palos Verdes Nature Preserve for some hiking. Only half an hour from our front door, the preserve has miles upon miles of trails that all boast stunning ocean views. The loops we took netted us almost six miles of hiking and over a thousand feet of elevation gain. 


I can’t wait to go back. The weather was perfect and the trails were amazing. We passed just enough people to not be alone, but had plenty of space to ourselves. Every trail was clearly marked and they were super easy to follow. Plus, those views. The ocean vistas accompanied the entire hike and brought with them refreshing ocean breezes. 


This wasn’t an easy hike. We gave up and then reclaimed over a thousand feet in elevation. There’s no shade on the trails, so if it’s a sunny day, you’ll need extra water. The views were definitely worth it though. I can’t wait to head back out there to explore some of the other trails. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

