Vegas 10k: Getting Serious


Today I am exactly 14 weeks from the Run Rock n Roll 10k on the Vegas Strip. We booked our hotels tonight, which somehow makes it more real than when we paid for the race. It’s time to get serious about my run training. 

I’m following the Nike 10k training plan, though I plan to run weeks 2-7 twice and tweak my distance runs so I keep my endurance high throughout. I’m setting an ambitious pace for my training. I may fail completely, but at least I will have tried. 

I also plan to keep lifting, at least two days a week following the Strong Lifts 5×5 program minus the deadlift. I hate running after lifting, but I know that in the long run that strength training is my friend. 

I wrote out my paces and to be honest they scare me. But, I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegas 10k: Getting Serious

  1. San says:

    So excited for you. I am still contemplating to sign up for the Rock’n’Roll… have to see if I can justify the travel + costs. What’s your goal pace?

    • Thanks so much! I really like how well organized the RNR races are. For this round of training I’m working towards a 9:00 minute pace. I’ll see how that’s going when I’m 7-8 weeks out and adjust from there.

Leave a Reply

