Five for Friday, v. 35

I’m waiting on things outside of my control. Which makes it hard to talk about anything. Because what I want to talk about is something I can’t talk about right now. And it’s been that way for most of the summer. Hence I keep dropping in and out around here. But here I am again. 


one I broke 100 lbs with my squats last week. Lifting over two-thirds of my own body weight is incredible. It’s been awesome to see what my body can do. I’ve missed lifting, but this is the first time that I’ve felt like I’m lifting the right way.


two How many times have I come on here and said our patio was now done? It finally is! I loved the mulch right after we put it down. And then we brushed the dog out. Mulch is a lint trap for dog hair. Then we stained the concrete and the color matched pretty much perfectly. And that was too much dark brown for me. B’s parents gave us the leftover turf from their project and we finally got it down! It took longer than expected thanks to needing three times the amount of rocks we originally thought would do it. But it’s in and we did it and it’s the best feeling. 

three B is prepping to leave Loki and I next month to be gone for a month. He had to pull out all his old military uniforms to start getting things ready. Loki was not happy when the boxes came out. He’s been extra clingy and grumpy ever since. This poor puppy has moved more times than most people I know, with three countries and three states in five years of life. Maybe one day he’ll forget the chaos of moving and the horrors of plane travel, but today is not that day. 


four I’m not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination. I love staying up late, but it’s been hot here in SoCal the last couple of weeks. And needing to run combined with working evenings means getting up early. It takes me forever to wake up, which means I have to get up even earlier so I can drink my coffee and smoothie before my runs. 


five Three times in the last two weeks, I’ve been minding my own business walking to and from my own home when I’ve been called to from cars by some guys. One set shouted at me as they drove by and then tried to cross paths with me in a parking lot further up but I dodged them. One guy asked me if I was taken or available in a grocery store parking lot. The last one was by far the creepiest though. He waited for me in a parking lot near our house and interrupted me on my walk with Loki. He even knew it was creepy because he mentioned not getting out of his car and scaring me. But he had to tell me how gorgeous I am and would I like to have drinks with him some time. Like, no. Stop. I’m starting to feel like I can’t walk my dog by myself and that is hugely problematic. I know they’ve been fairly nice, but telling me you’ve watched me walking my dog and set yourself up to be able to talk to me is massively creepy. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

