Five for Friday, v. 33

By the time this goes live, we will be on our way to Sam Diego for an extended weekend with B’s parents. We really are so lucky to have such a great relationship with both sets of our parents. Trips with them are always fun. 


one I had my wisdom teeth out last Wednesday. Two had erupted on one side back when I was a teen, but weren’t causing any problems. The third, that’s right I only had three, was still under the gum and also not bugging me. Hence, I made it to thirty-one without having them removed. Until I got a cavity in one. Since they were knocking me all the way out via iv, I decided that all at once was the way to go. It hurt like a bitch, but besides my own worry of getting all the bad things and one weirdly gross surgical pocket, I survived with no complications. The pain has been dropping like crazy the last couple of days, which is good. My San Diego plans don’t involve being laid up. 


two As I mentioned above, we’re super lucky with the parents we do. Not only do we get along well with both sides, but they also like each other. While my parents were here, we all got together in Griffith Park to do the observatory and hike around. Then we headed into Hollywood where I magically directed us into an open parking lot right next to the brewery we wanted that was magically empty. I haven’t tired of taking people around LA yet, maybe because I delight in watching them take it all in. Particularly when it’s both sets of our parents seeing it for the first time. 


three I tipsy ordered a new rug over Memorial Day Weekend. Our old one was a tad small for the space; plus between the tassels and how thin it was, it was almost impossible to vacuum. I love this new one. It’s just the right amount of color to add to the space. And as an indoor-outdoor rug, it’s way easier to clean. 


four I’m obsessed with these stemless wine glasses my sister gave me for my birthday. They have a great heft to them, plus a fun etching. I love stemless glasses so much. I just wish I had learned this before I came to own over twenty regular wine glasses. At least I can always have a variety out when people come over to drink.


five Speaking of obsessions, my new bracelet that covers my Fitbit is a big one. I adore my Fitbit, but haven’t been thrilled with wearing it when I’m dressed up. I’ve missed wearing my watches and disliked how it detracts from my outfit. I even left it behind on a trip to Vegas because I didn’t want to deal with it. Enter Funktional Wearables. They make bracelets, charms, and more to disguise a variety of fitness trackers. B gifted me mine for my birthday and I’ve been wearing it whenever we go out or I’m teaching. Now I get to track my steps and look cute. Talk about your win-win. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

