Patio Redo

When we first started looking for quotes to get our patio done, I really wanted to have it be either stained or stamped. I didn’t want plain gray concrete. Actually, originally I wanted something like pavers. But, these things cost money. And what it came down to was needing and wanting to get it done. So we just had plain concrete poured. 

And then a couple of friends offered to come out and help us stain it. Of course we took them up on that. 


It’s not like the patio before was unsightly. I just didn’t like the plain gray. Or the two obviously different colors of the original sidewalk and the newer patio. It just wasn’t exciting to look at. 


All I really knew was that I wanted a darker brown. After cleaning the patio and letting it dry we did the first coat. The can said to have the patio wet. We did for the first coat. And if you want a more transparent look, that’s probably the way to do repeat coats. But we didn’t want that look. 


So for coats two and three we went undiluted and rolled it straight like paint. We’ll see how it holds up, but this is definitely the look I wanted. Our expert friend said he had never heard of thinning it out before, so we’re all pretty confident with the route we took. 


Once everything dried we did two coats of sealant. And then we let that dry for a day and a half. And then I put the patio back together. The one thing we did as were some felt pads for the bottom of the furniture. No sense in scraping everything up right off the bat. 

Now I can’t wait for some warm summer nights and drinks on our patio. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

