Five for Friday v. 32


one This bad boy landed on my doorstep yesterday. My search for a bar stretches back to 2012, when we moved to Turkey. Everyone had custom built furniture, us included. But we skipped the bar. Since we bought the house, it’s been my number one search. Only to finally find a perfect piece on Zulily this week. It blends what B and I both like in furniture. If you’ve shopped with Zulily, then you know their shipping normally takes forever. In this case, I needed that time to get the house rearranged to fit this piece. Instead, I now have to rearrange while resisting the temptation to bust into the box and put this beauty together. 


two It’s been a week of running around here. Deciding to pursue running every day in May has been great for me so far. Today’s long run of four miles felt much easier than recent runs of that length. Even if it’s only a mile, moving more has definitely helped. Where I struggle is trusting my training plan. I want to run as fast as I can for every second of every mile. The problem being that I hit a wall after mile two and end up walking. Today I fought myself to slow down and ended up with an excellent run. There’s probably a life lesson there, but I’ll just focus on the running one – trust the training plan. 


three Loki has gotten really funny about our schedules. He knows when we’re going for runs and when he gets to come. He knows which days B will be working. But he hates days that I work. Since B leaves so early, Loki doesn’t really pay attention. But I typically don’t leave until mid afternoon. Which means Loki is in full home mode with us both and he gets quite agitated when I go to leave. Lots of heaving sighs and grumps more in line with a teenager than a dog. He’s pretty cute. 


four We ordered new Kindles about a week back. We were both still using our models from 2010/2011. They were clunky and hard to update or connect to wifi. These sleek new Fires are so easy to use. And the result is that I’m reading more again. Like running, reading is one of those things where I feel more like myself the more I do. It’s also one of those things that the less I do, the harder I find it to pick it back up. 


five We went up to visit B’s dad two weekends ago. His mom was out of town for business and we figured an overnight would be fun. While we were there, we visited a local park for some running of the pups. There’s a trail that meanders by the river and pretty much everyone off leashes their dogs and watches them swim. We were no exception. Part of the park is a killer frisbee golf course that goes up the side of a steep hill. When we lived with them at the end of 2014, we climbed that hill and I thought I was going to die. His dad wanted to climb the hill again on this visit. Since we had both run 5ks that morning, we didn’t, but we did anyway. The equivalent of twenty flights of stairs in ten minutes later, we were as high up as anyone wanted to go. But, it felt like an easy climb. And my father in law couldn’t quit going on about what great shape I’m in now. It’s fun to repeat activities now that I’m healthier cardiovascularly. I have a whole list of activities to tackle. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

