May Running

My darling husband and I were talking yesterday as I limped home from a run. I made it two miles in, only to trip on the sidewalk and bite it seven-year-old style. Thank goodness for capri length running leggings or I’d have the skinned knees to go with the bruised ego today. He was reminding me that I was doing well with running. I kindly countered that our running has dropped off since the completion of his relay race in March. It’s hard to run a lot without a race on the radar.

So here we are. No races scheduled until November. We’re signing up for the Vegas 10k on the Strip at night. It will be awesome. But it’s a long way away. We’re heading into a warmer time of the year and I don’t really want to have to fly anywhere to race. I just missed signing up for the LA Halloween Half Marathon, but I also don’t really want to do 13.1 miles followed by 6.2 just two weeks later. I’m not that big of a glutton for punishment.

I’m going to keep looking for some nearish races, hopefully on or near the beach for temperature help, but I need something for now. I need something to help me lace up my shoes without a race on the horizon. Yesterday, as I eased my bruised pride into a chair, I decided that the least I can do is run a mile every day this month.

My idea was born. It’s not a new one. I’m going to run every day this month. At least one mile. Hopefully more most days. But, at the least I want a mile of steady footfalls and accelerated breathing. Every day.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to May Running

  1. evalonne says:

    I would love to run a mile every day! Go you!

    • evalonne says:

      And there’s probably something to be said for making the time. But there sure is a whole lot of time I need to be pulling out of thin air.

      • The nice thing is that I know I can get a mile done in about 10 minutes. If I take Loki and we walk home, it doubles as his exercise. Also, no kids makes it a lot easier. But, you’re right, we make time for what we prioritize.

  2. SanSan says:

    Races can be such a good source of motivation. But hey, you set your own goals… that will do it, too.

Leave a Reply

