Grand Canyon West

img_2867Once upon a time on a different blog I used to write recap posts of all of our amazing vacations. I only missed a few of them, and honestly, looking back the gaps make me sad. I love reading back over our trips the same way I love flipping through our photo books. Maybe that makes me a little schmaltzy, but I’m okay with that.

img_2894We left Vegas bright and early on Saturday morning to head out to Grand Canyon West. Our first order of business was making sure we had food for the day, as we didn’t want to purchase 15 dollar sandwiches on site. After a quick Subway stop, the three of us (B, friend S, and I) were loaded into the car and ready to go. I was a bit apprehensive about the drive, just because I had read online that the roads were rough and unpaved in some areas. As we were driving B’s less than two month old car, I was dreading that part. I also made sure to take screen shots of all of the directions we needed because the internet said it was easy to get lost out there. Neither of those are true. The roads were paved the whole way and there were so many signs that you couldn’t have gotten lost if you had tried. Okay, maybe if you tried really hard and ignored the giant signs.

img_2978

My research did pay off in that we knew not to exit the bus for the first stop. It’s just a little “old west” replica town where you can buy souvenirs and the aforementioned $15 sandwiches. Instead, we stayed on for our first glimpse of the Grand Canyon. And what a glimpse it was. I was petrified. I absolutely loathe heights, particularly the fact that my husband is so nonchalant around them. The beauty won out over my fear though and I got as close as I dared to look down.

img_2886This sign made us laugh. If you look closely, you’ll see that the person is attempting to come back up from the chasm but is not allowed to jump over the crack. So, if you do go past the sign, you are required to fall to your death and are not allowed to safely make it back to the path. For a place with no guard rails, this seems rather dark.

img_2898Further up the road was an old mine shaft where they mined guano until the mid 60s when a USAF plane clipped the cable with it’s wing and ended that operation. I would love to know the pilot that was joy riding through the Grand Canyon when he took out a bat shit mining cable.

img_2888I do wish there had been more open trails while we were there. I would have loved to do more hiking and to have had the opportunity to get away from what few people were there. We missed most of them by not doing the Skywalk. It looked really cool, but I had to be dragged into the Skybox thing in Chicago, so I was pretty sure there was no way I was going to make it on a loop out over the canyon.

img_2910It reminded me of Turkey, especially Cappadocia, with all of rocks begging to be climbed and no park rangers yelling at you to get down. It made me a little bit homesick for the place honestly.

img_2905This was the trip that made me agree to go back to Vegas the second time. We had originally planned on driving up to San Francisco, but between B’s friend being in Vegas and the chance to see the Grand Canyon, I’m glad we went back. It was fairly impromptu, which was a fun feeling. I feel like we’re getting our traveling groove back and I can’t wait to start venturing out with even more trips.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grand Canyon West

  1. evalonne says:

    Gorgeous! And I love reading about your adventures!

  2. Kate says:

    I’ve never been. Looking incredible!

  3. San says:

    The Grand Canyon is just so impressive!

Leave a Reply

