Five for Friday, v. 31

I didn’t realize how much I needed Spring Break until it was here and gone. I had one week fully off and the other was a light week. And I feel like a better teacher again for it. My patience is back, I’m focusing on keeping it fun, and even more, I’m not counting down to the end of each lesson. 

  

one Since I originally started this post, our second trip to Vegas has come and gone. It was even better than the first. I’m both happy and sad that we don’t have any travel plans on the schedule for awhile. Happy because I’ve missed my routine, but sad because traveling is where it’s at. 

 

two The worst part about all the travel was missing this face. He’s spent an inordinate amount of time at the inlaws while we were gone. I’m not even sure he’s happy to be home. We have neither a pool nor a fountain, not to mention the decided lack of his sister dog. But, we sure are happy to have him back. And now that this hectic week is over, I think he’ll start to enjoy it too since he’ll actually get to see us. 

 
three We stayed on the strip this time around and I honestly can’t stress enough how much of an improvement this was. We could walk out of our room and be in the perfect chaos in five minutes. It was exactly the experience we wanted. Plus, everyone at Bally’s was super nice, from the check in clerk who upgraded our room, to the sales associate in their version of Claire’s who gave me an earring backing to replace the one I dropped down the sink. I am very glad we prioritized being on strip this time around and honestly don’t think I would do it any other way now. It was too much fun. 

  

four We read a lot of mixed reviews about going to Grand Canyon West from Vegas. It’s two hours closer than the National Park, and still over two hours away. First, there are multiple Yelp reviews talking about unpaved roads, there were none. Everything was paved and very well marked. I was stressed about getting lost due to the reviews, but it honestly wouldn’t have been possible. Second, there were many gripes about the price. It was steep. Almost 50 dollars per person and that was just for entry and access to the shuttle that you have to use to go to the three points. But, it was worth it to not need to spend an additional two hours each way in the car. You could pay more to go out onto the skywalk, but I had no desire to do that. Third, everyone complained about safety. There are no guardrails or fences there. You can walk right up to the edge. It was awesome. My overall review is that it was worth it.  The view was staggering, we had never been, so it was fun to do. That said, there’s not a lot to do out there, so I’m not sure I would go back unless we planned on hopping in a helicopter. 

 

five If it’s not evident, a week later I’m still all about Vegas. This week was a huge struggle. Partly due to the emotional letdown from being back home and partly due to the fact that it was a logistical nightmare. I’m not sure when we’ll go back, but we definitely will. It’s the perfect weekend getaway. 
  

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five for Friday, v. 31

  1. evalonne says:

    I lost my comment, nooooooo. It sounds like y’all had a fantastic time! Breaks are the best (unless everyone spends it sick like we did…but hopefully we can manage a summer trip this year). An epic dual-blogging about a California trip. :D

    • My actual spring break week honestly sucked. But we made the most of the weekends just on either side of it. I hope y’all are able to make it out here this summer, it would be good to see y’all.

      • evalonne says:

        I’m crossing my fingers. It would definitely be after June, since J’s big work project is due in June. With any luck by then we’ll know when the weddings will be, and they’ll be in the fall or something.

Leave a Reply

