Vegas

Oh man, Vegas was so much fun. The trip went by way too fast, but it was the best. I suppose that’s trips in general, but the memories are the best. 

 
Post work on Saturday I picked up my friend and travel companion so we could begin our trip. We kicked off the festivities with mimosas while waiting for our Uber and then had wine at the airport bar. Once again, our little airport made my day. We were through security a mere thirteen minutes after leaving my house.  


We made it to Vegas and wandered the strip while waiting for the guys to finish their runs. We got our drinks and enjoyed people watching and window shopping. Thankfully, B was able to join us quickly, though he was exhausted and we all called it a fairly early night. 

 

We kicked Sunday off the only way you can in Vegas – brunch with bottomless mimosas. We took our duty seriously, and got happily tipsy. The food was good, but I actually hate all you can eat buffets because I never feel like I eat enough to justify the price. Vegas fixed that by letting me drink my money’s worth. 
  
Because we were up there for a relay race, and because their team took third in their division, we lost a good chunk of Sunday to the award ceremony. Part of this was because we were noobs and believed the fake early start time. Never again. Still, we made the most of it. I will note that none of this would have been as irritating if we hadn’t been staying off strip and if we had been aware of the monorail. That was poor planning on our part that detracted from some of the fun. 

 

Sunday night found us heading to the Rio to watch Penn and Teller. They were so much fun.  Definitely the best magic show I’ve ever been too. This was the highlight of the trip for me. We didn’t even debate the show, as its one we’ve both always wanted to see. Post show we hit the Bellagio Fountains and then wandered Caeser’s Palace in search of the spiral escalator. Sometime it’s the simple things. 

 

We aren’t big on spending loads of money drinking and neither of us gamble. But we loved Vegas. So much, that we changed our travel plans for the start of April. We were talking about going to San Francisco, but we decided to abort and return to Vegas instead. Bring it on. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

