Five for Friday, v. 30

This post is brought to you by Vegas! On my mind only today though, I still have a half day of work left before my flight tomorrow afternoon. But, it’s been at the front of my thoughts all week. I’m forcing myself to relish the anticipation and making myself wait to plan the next trip until we get back from this one. 

  
one What a saga this patio has been. We started last October looking for quotes, before finally finding a guy who wasn’t charging a ludicrous amount for our tiny patio. Then our HOA lost our application for two months. Then they took a solid six weeks to approve us. I called weekly for the last month or so. Good thing to, because they still haven’t mailed it to me. I guess I’m lucky I pushed for the verbal ok and the emailed form. Now we wait a few months, and this summer a friend is coming out to help us stain and resurface it. 

  
two We staycationed last week across the mountains at B’s parents house. It’s always so nice to visit with them. They feed us, have a pool for Loki, and we all enjoy our ‘cruise ship’ days. That’s what we call any day where we wake up late, eat a big breakfast, go on an excursion, come home to nap, and then do appetizers, dinner, and drinks at the pool/hot tub. Which is pretty much every visit. It’s incredibly relaxing and I always feel so recharged when we come home. 

  
three I’m taking a webinar next week for my first professional development for this job. A company just launched a new curriculum that we’re hoping to integrate into our studio. I’m pretty excited as it would lead to some fun, semi-private lessons on my schedule. I’m also hoping it will provide a good boost to my marketability as a teacher. 

  
four Loki stayed at the inlaws this week. It’s been very quiet without him. Some good – like being able to laze in bed or stay up ludicrously late without him getting antsy. But, mostly we’ve missed him. It’s little things like not having him there to share our bananas. We’ve had to actually pick up food dropped in the kitchen, which is no fun at all. I’m glad they took him though, since B’s original plan was to drive him up after work on Thursday and he wound up with overtime that would have made that trip suck. Still, I’m looking forward to getting him back on Monday. 

 

five I haven’t kept my resolution of scheduling a race every 8-12 weeks. Technically, I have until the end of April to find and run one, but I miss having one ready to go. It’s a lot easier to talk myself into shorter runs or not running when I don’t have a race on the calendar. I guess I had better look and see what I can get scheduled. Even if I don’t make the end of April, I’m ready to be training again. I did some lifting last week, and it’s going to take some adjusting to both lift and run regularly.  It’s all about finding the right balance for my life. I’m just not sure what that is. I guess that’s the whole point of living though. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

