Five for Friday, v. 29

I have to laugh at myself. After being all excited about how I was back on track with regular running last week, today was my first run this week. I’m pretty sure there is a life lesson in that. Regardless, I’m trying to do better at rolling with what comes and not beating myself up for what doesn’t happen. 

 
one The weather has been gorgeous this week. Lots of sunny days with blue skies where the temperature is just right. Of course, this has been a crazy week for us where we both started feeling sick so we haven’t enjoyed it as much as we should. But this weather heralds the return of the monthly beach runs. We’re also planning out some hikes to do on our off days. It’s time to get back outside. 

two B works this entire weekend (Fri-Sun) so I’m using it to work on our house. My friend San asked how long it takes to feel like your house is in order. I’m no expert, but we’re over five months in and things are still far from done. This weekend the push is to clean from top to bottom and paint the kitchen and its powder room. 

three I spent this last week curating a family photo book for my grandfather’s 96th birthday. All of my cousins sent in photos and I sorted, organized, and turned them into a book. I loved doing it, though I struggled a bit with emotions while doing so. I haven’t always had the best relationship with that side of the family, but they are still my family. One thing it did make me realize is how important it is to get group photos when people are together. No one had a family shot (parents, kids (my age group), grandkids) more recent than 2014. My family’s last group picture was my wedding. So now I’m on a mission to make sure that we bust out the real cameras and get pictures when we’re all together. 

four I got hit with major puppy fever this past weekend. We even went to a mall puppy store and discussed getting on a breeder’s wait list. But, as much as I want a puppy, I really don’t want to spend that kind of money. So we’re scouring ads looking for reputable backyard breeders that don’t cost a fortune. And mulling the ramifications of getting a puppy. Loki is so chill, but there are days when we’re both out of the house for over twelve hours and I just can’t do that to a puppy. Which puts us at not now, and who knows when. 

five I’ve been super intentional the last few weeks about my friend phone dates. It’s been amazing to get back in touch. And to feel like I have friends again. Sure they both still live in Texas, but weekly phone calls go a long way in feeling like we’re still part of each other’s lives. In addition, I’m seeing progress with a friendship I’ve been cultivating since last summer and I finally feel like we’re friends and not just acquaintances. That’s a hugely awesome step and just proves that even though making friends takes more work, it’s definitely worth doing. 

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five for Friday, v. 29

  1. Alana Gidycz says:

    Have you considered looking for a breed specific rescue organization to adopt through? (I mostly know about the husky/northern breed organizations in the US but I know there are tons of other breed specific organizations) Sometimes dogs get dropped off pregnant so rescuing doesn’t mean you have to give up on having a puppy of a specific breed.

    • I have looked into that. And donate to one of them in our area. The problem is that most of them want you to guarantee a yard and we don’t have one. It’s definitely something I would still consider.

Leave a Reply

