Five for Friday v. 27

I feel like I’ve gone mostly radio silent this year. I type out posts, tweets, and the like and then delete them unseen by any but me. I’m not sure where my reticence is coming from, but I would like to figure it out so I can get back to my old self. 

 

one Running has become such a part of who I am. I start to get antsy when I miss more than a couple of days. Today is a long run day and it will be my first run since Sunday. I’ve definitely noticed that my  attitude nose dived the more days I don’t run. Which means I need to figure out a solution to my not running on workdays. Which mostly involves getting up and running anyway. 
  

two We spent this week being good adults. It sucked. On Tuesday we spent three hours wrestling with taxes and we’re still not done. I’m waiting on one last 1099 and we need our investment documents. We have also done car maintenance three days this week and taken the pup to the vet. All overdue, so maybe next time we won’t do it all in one week. 

 

three I’m super excited to get back to painting this weekend. I took last week off since we had family in town. But now I’m ready to get ‘er done. I feel like all the little things are coming together to make our home complete. My MIL sent us rug backers to keep our accent rug from sliding all over. I’ve made us coasters that are cute and cheap. Now I just need to get the paint done and then get pictures up on the wall. Then I can take a break to figure out what to tackle next. 

 

four I have puppy fever right now. One of B’s cousins got a pup and they’ve plastered Instagram with photos. Unfortunately, I just don’t think it’s the right time for us to be adding to our family. We work long and odd hours. Loki does great, but I’m afraid it would be too much to ask of a puppy. But that doesn’t stop me from looking and dreaming. 

 
five I made a big effort this last week to reach out to friends and set up phone dates. Both calls lasted for well over an hour. It was so good to hear my friends’ voices. We’re turning them into standing dates, because it turns out I’m not the only one who is missing them. It was an excellent object lesson in reaching out and being rewarded. Moping about being lonely doesn’t solve the problem; calling people and reconnecting does.  
  

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five for Friday v. 27

  1. San says:

    Isn’t it great when running feels like part of the routine, not something you have to constantly consciously push to make time for? ;)

    Friend phone dates are the best. I wish I could do more of this during the week, but calling my friends overseas always has to be pushed to the weekend because of the stupid time difference.

    • It is probably my favorite part of having a running routine now. It just feels like part of my every day life and I feel off when I miss it. Rather than it being something I have to deliberately schedule and dread/resent until I’m doing it. It’s very nice to have made that transition.

      I have totally been there. When we lived in Turkey we were 8-10 hours ahead of everyone, so it felt like we couldn’t ever find a good time to talk to people. I’m very grateful to only be two hours behind them all now.

  2. Kate says:

    I need to get into phone calls & Skype. I always love them when I can force myself into doing them, but they give me terrible anxiety beforehand, even with my best friends.

    • I struggle to just pick up the phone and call. That’s why I’ve found having a set night of the week/day of the month/etc to call helps. I don’t have to be anxious about interrupting their life because it’s a predetermined time.

Leave a Reply

