Of Stuffed Dinosaurs and Exploring

  
One of our informal resolutions is to get back to exploring this massive city of ours. We’ve done a decent job of getting out and about during our eleven months of residency. But, since B switched to nights, we’ve really slacked off. The excuses are miles long, but they don’t really matter. Getting back out there does. 

 
Our original plan for today was to go up to Six Flags. We’re season ticket holders and haven’t been since the end of summer. The forecast threatened rain just long enough to alter our plans. I didn’t want to spend the day on the couch, so I searched for some museums to explore on a rainy day. We woke to sunshine, but the Natural History Museum and its Mummy exhibit was calling our names. 

While I didn’t take any pictures in the Mummy exhibit, I indulged in the rest of the museum. It was fun to wander the dinosaur hall. Then we found this polar bear who could be Loki’s ancestor. B had to pet him. 

  We were fixing to leave, when I saw a picture of the little stuffed dinosaur. I knew he would be perfect for Loki. We made our way back to the Dino gift shop to find him. He was forty dollars unless you purchased something else. I found a .69 eraser and got Loki a twenty dollar dinosaur. Yes, I might be a bit insane. But I barely got in the door before Loki started begging for it and he’s carrying it all over the house now. 

I didn’t know how much we needed this trip until we purchased that dinosaur. It’s so easy to fall into a rut, to quit exploring, to forget to be impulsive and have fun. That little dinosaur was an impulsive purchase and is pure fun. Here’s to a year of exploring and impulsive fun. 

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

