Joy

I’ve never really been a resolutions person. I know how hipster that makes me sound. But it’s true. I avoid the gym like the plague in January because I hate how crowded they are. I’ve never cared for diets so I don’t do them. I don’t like giving things up completely because I believe that moderation is key. 

And yet, I do want to make sure I’m being my best me. I want to live my life as fully as I can. I don’t want to hold myself back. With that said, here are a few things I want to do more and less of in 2016. 

cook more, eat out less

I’ve rediscovered how much fun cooking at home can be thanks to a cookbook housewarming gift. Now it’s time to capitalize on that and do more cooking. We have been doing better about eating at home more, but we still eat out way too much. I want to perfect a few recipes to be easy go-to recipes to counter that it’s easier and faster to go out. 

run more, drink less 

This is not me giving up booze. But it is me acknowledging that alcohol leaves me dehydrated and groggy the next day. And that makes running quite difficult. I ran 196.4 miles from the end of August to the end of December 2015. I want to run all of the miles in 2016. Running makes me feel balanced and centered. 

read more, internet less

I have decided to track the number of books I read this year. New reads, old reads; that doesn’t matter. What does matter is getting back to enjoying reading. I want to stay up late to finish books. I want the tv and laptop off while I lose myself in dusty pages. I lose a lot of time to mindlessly browsing the Internet. I want to cut that back so that when I do engage, it’s more meaningful and less of a time suck. 

laugh more, cry less

The end of years are hard for me. Transitions are hard for me. Winter is hard for me. Somewhere, I’ve lost my joy. Joy is my word for 2016. I have a daily guided journal winging its way to me that focuses on finding joy. I want to refocus on the things that make me smile, rather than dwell on the things that make me sad. 

Here’s to a new year, a blank slate, and a fresh start. Here’s to another day and making it count. Here’s to what was, what is, and what is yet to be. Here’s to 2016. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

