The Year is Dying, Let Him Die

The close of every year always manages to surprise me. It seems that I’m constantly looking back and wondering how I got to where I am. It’s a pretty marvelous feeling honestly. Because every year surprises me with what unfolds. I’ve definitely learned to stay open to what the year has in store. 

Last year we were living with my inlaws with no plans. B had just had LASIK and we weren’t sure how long it would take to get a job offer. Just two weeks in to the year, he got the call that caused a lot of angst until we decided to embrace the new adventure. 

January was a daze of getting him ready to start his training academy, me flying back to Texas to grab the spare car, and searching for a place to live. It was a whirlwind of too many hours driving and the stress of job hunting and moving. 

February saw us moving in to our new place, me finding a job, and the painful realization that our girl dog was not doing well at our new place. We went hiking and made lots of quick trips to the beach. We were settling in to B’s academy routine and they had finally started letting up on the paramilitary training style. 

March was me realizing that I hated my job, quitting it and walking into two positions the same week. Both positions needed some major subbing over the next couple of months, which was a fortuitous finding for me. B continued to dominate in his academy. And we finally rehomed Sam to live with the inlaws. I cried a lot this month over that change. 

April was me actually changing jobs and diving full force into teaching again. I received a lot of training in the music and movement classes, plus started building my own clientele. We reveled in being in SoCal with trips to the beach, to the mountains for hiking, and snapping up a SixFlags season pass. 

May saw us have our first visitors over Memorial Day weekend. We did our first movie at the Chinese Theater and made our first trip to the Griffith Observatory. My subbing was coming to an end and I started focusing on building up my own students. B was slogging through his academy and tantalized by the end that was drawing ever closer. 

June started off with my 30th birthday. It was one I had been dreading until it came and life kept going. We celebrated by hiking and then a fun dinner at the beach with friends. June also brought B’s badge and our first full celebration of his job. 

July saw B graduate as the number one recruit from his class. Their graduation party was an insane night of drinking and fun. We then had a brief week off before I started my summer classes. On one of those glorious off nights, B told me that he didn’t want to keep renting for another eighteen months. Our original plan was to renew our year lease in February 2016 and start looking for a home that fall. After that discussion we decided to try and find a house by the end of the year. 

August saw us pick a house and enter escrow less than two weeks after deciding we would buy. It was a whirlwind of appointments to pick out flooring and phone calls with our mortgage broker. We began packing things up and dreaming of paint colors. B also went on his first backpacking trip up into the Sequoias. I went home for my sister’s baby shower and on that trip decided that I needed a new hobby. Thus, when I came home I began training for my first race, a half marathon. 

September was the month we became homeowners. We bought paint, negotiated a whirlwind move where I painted two rooms and a wall in less than 24 hours while having our internet hooked up and furniture delivered. Before we knew it, we were spending our first night in our new home. Work was a blur this month as my schedule has morphed into my never having more than a day off at a time. 

October felt positively quiet after the previous couple of months. I taught, B worked and we kept settling in. We went to the beach with Loki and ran on the beach for the first time. We hosted our first house party and celebrated all month long. I picked out four new paint colors to try in the walls. None were picked. My sister had her baby and I enjoyed getting pictures of a cuddly newborn sent to my phone. Our plantation shutters finally arrived and we survived hanging them up together. 

November saw B switch to nights and his least favorite trainer. My schedule became too much and I broached moving a day. My students were all amenable and I built in a weekend for myself. My BFF came to visit over Thanksgiving and she helped give opinions on my myriad of paint colors. We made hurricanes, went to the beach, and grilled steaks for our fancy dinner. I bought a Christmas tree for our house and made grand plans for decorating. 

December started with 13.1 miles. I flew into Texas for a quick week of family and racing. I met my niece and celebrated Christmas with my family. I came home and tried once more to find paint for our main floor. Success was achieved in our ninth sample. B finished the second phase of his training and got to go along on his first helicopter ride along. We decided to buy a coffee table for our living room after I threw down our Turkish rug. We signed up to run a 10k in January. 

Even looking back, I’m still not sure how we got to where we are now. Life twists and turns and I can’t wait to see what 2016 has in store. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

