Run to Remember: A Start

I knew almost as soon as I finished my half marathon that I wanted to run another race. Honestly, I knew as soon as I crossed the start line. The endorphin rush, being part of something so large, it all got to me. The moment our corral started running, I knew I was fully hooked.

Picking my next race really wasn’t hard. B is currently training for the Baker to Vegas relay race in March. We enjoy running the same basic distances when we’re off together. Not that we run together. He can maintain a 7:15 pace over a 10k distance. I cannot. But, since he’s currently focused on the 10k distance, I’ve decided that that’s the next distance I want to race. I like that the mileage allows for short runs that are easy to fit into my weekday schedule but still require long runs on the weekends so that I don’t lose any of my distance training.

We signed up tonight for the LA Run to Remember at the 10k distance. My 5 week training plan will launch on Monday. But, for me, I started back tonight. It was a cool and wet night and I really didn’t want to run. That’s what is so great about training for me, I don’t even see it as an option to skip. It wasn’t actually raining and I knocked out a solid 5 mile run. I’m really happy that two weeks after my first race, I’m back to training for my next race. What can I say, I’m definitely hooked on running.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Run to Remember: A Start

  1. San says:

    Good for you for keeping at it! I will start a new training plan in January!

    • Thanks! I find it so much easier to go out and run when I know I have a race on the schedule. I wish this one was a little farther out, but I’m excited to run it with my husband.

  2. coffeeandjetplanes says:

    rock n’ fly is march 19!! and pensacola is wayyyyyyy nicer than you think it is. i’ll be there! running ftw :)

Leave a Reply

