Five for Friday, v. 26

There are two workdays left between me and a two week break. Besides being much needed for my sanity, I’m looking forward to actually sharing some off days with B and spending some quality time together. We don’t have any real plans as he won’t get his schedule for Dec 27 on until Christmas day. Still, I’m excited to have two weeks where I don’t have to do anything that I don’t want to do.

img_2357one Loki has really turned up the pouting this week. He’s gotten much more vocal recently and seems to have perfected his favorite grumping noises. Not that I blame him at all. We’ve all had a rough week honestly. I worked all four days that B was off, including extra hours, and my commute home took no less than an hour each time. For Loki, it’s bad because it seems like someone is always sleeping. Even worse, when we’re both home, he loses his spot on the couch. Which is what happened in the picture above. He couldn’t fit on the couch, so he headed off to pout.

img_2356-1two I can’t believe that it’s been almost two weeks since I ran my half marathon. I didn’t intend to take any time off from running, but besides a couple of two mile runs, I didn’t do any running until today. I pulled off a four mile run today. It was slow – I was a touch dehydrated and it was bright and warm out. But I did it. I plan to run again tomorrow. I have to take advantage of the days that I either don’t teach on or that I finish early on so that I can reach my mileage goals. B and I use the same running app and it lets us see how much the other person has run. We definitely compete on seeing who can run the most.

img_2341-1three B surprised me with flowers this week. I woke up the morning after he finished his last shift and came downstairs to both donuts and a gorgeous bouquet. The gesture was completely unexpected and meant so much to me. The flowers have made me smile every time I’ve walked through our main floor.

img_2352-1four Probably the worst part of our current schedule conflict is that we do most of our hanging out after I get home from work. I tend to be grumpy, especially over the last week or so, due to fighting traffic and just being tired. There’s also not a lot to go do at that point in time. We’re not the go out clubbing types. Our favorite things to do, walk the beach, go shooting, playing putt-putt, etc are all things that need sunlight. So, we’ve been spending a lot of time hanging out on our couch. I’m very grateful for Netflix as it’s been a key part of our lives over the last two months.

img_2358five We have not done anything with the house in the last couple of months. We moved in, busted our butts to get things done, and we’ve been coasting. We discussed tonight at dinner that we want to use our year of end break to get things polished up. I want to finish painting. I want to get the movies out of the trunk and onto their stands. I want the books out of their stack and onto the bookshelves. I want to get everything hung onto the walls. I want the garage organized. I want to figure out the coffee table/console table situation for both our upstairs and downstairs rooms. Tonight, I took a step toward that and pulled our Turkish rug out of storage and threw it down in the upstairs living room. I know that technically it should be larger for the size of the space and furniture, but I don’t care. I already own it, I like the colors in the room, and I like that it warms the place up. I feel like we went from a cold room that didn’t look lived in, to having an actual living room. While I have a lot of work left to do, I’m glad that I took the thirty seconds to get started.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

