Weekly Wishes

IMG_2332
I can’t believe that Christmas is less than two weeks away. This has been such a year of transitions. A year ago today, we were in Texas with my family, preparing to head to Cali for what we thought would be a relatively short stay. Today, I’m curled up on our couch in our relatively still new home, next to our first American Christmas tree. No wonder the nostalgia is in full force today. 

IMG_2330
reflections – lows:

I’ve only run twice this week. My legs haven’t been sore, so much as fatigued. I ran today and had to keep it short and easy. It seems that even though I feel fine with normal activities, that I still have some recovering to do in my running. 

Loki asked to go out last night shortly before midnight. Since I was planning to head to bed at that time, I took him out hoping it would last the night. But when I turned to bring him back in, I saw that the unsold house next to ours had an open door. I hustled Loki back in, found the desk number for the local sheriffs office and called it in. Loki proceeded to growl intermittently. Needless to say, my adrenaline kept me awake much later than I anticipated. Luckily, all is well and nothing was wrong, but it sure made me wish B wasn’t working nights right now. 

IMG_2315
reflections – highs:

I decorated our Christmas tree today. I’ve been meaning to do it since Black Friday, but at least it’s done now. It’s nice to have the cheer around the room. 

One of the side effects of all the running I’ve been doing, is that my weight has finally started dropping off. I went shopping while home with my Mom and found that I’ve made my way back into size 6 jeans. It’s nice to see that the balance of cardio and eating better has been paying off for me. 

I’m so excited for the next couple of weeks. Thanks to my holiday schedule, B and I will actually have a couple of days off together. That hasn’t happened in a while, so I’m happy that it’s finally working out. 

IMG_2334
intentions:

Increase my mileage again. I’ve gone on two 2 mile runs since the half marathon and I would like to work my way back into longer runs. This week is about getting back into the 3-5 mile distances. 

Keep up the good eating. Last week we made and mostly stuck to an eating plan. I would like us to keep that going this week. 

Enjoy the last couple of weeks of the year. We have plans with friends and family, so I want to do my best at just being present during the next few weeks. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

