NaBloPoMo 2015: Thankful

We are having a very low key day today. We made a late breakfast of bacon, biscuits, and gravy before heading to the dog beach to let Loki run in the waves. We were out there surrounded by others celebrating the vast expanse of the Pacific and te playful barks of all our pups. Loki made friends with a couple of different dogs and we all hung out watching them chase each other in the surf. I’m thankful for the simple pleasures of sand and sun and sea. 

B and I will be heading out to do some shopping this afternoon. Black Friday shopping is one of our favorite annual traditions. When we found out that he would be working, we were more upset than we will be when we learn he’s working Christmas. Christmas can be celebrated at any time, it’s hard to shop when you have to sleep all day on Black Friday. So we’re off to hit a retail store in hopes of finding some clothes. Most things we can purchase online, but we both vastly prefer trying our clothes on first. I’m thankful for my husband, who works long, odd, and hard hours in a thankless job. 

Later tonight, we’re trucking across town to the Packers bar. Football, booze, and dearest friends will occupy our evening. We’ve never really done the traditional thanksgiving thing, so I’m excited to try something new this year. Who knows, maybe this will stick for us. I’m thankful for my bff and her love of adventure that brought her to SoCal for a very nontraditional Thanksgiving week. 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

