NaBloPoMo 2015: Five for Friday, v. 25

Tonight’s Five for Friday is sponsored by a very pathetic puppy. He’s posed for some ridiculous pictures over the last couple of weeks. He’s not happy with our new schedule and thus is being extra pathetic.

IMG_2177

one I ordered my second pair of Brooks Ravenna running shoes this week. They were on sale plus free shipping. I couldn’t pass up the sale. Not to mention, my old shoes have close to 150 recorded miles and nine months of unrecorded runs. The new pair came in today, so I went ahead and ran on them tonight. I want to alternate my runs on my shoes, since I’ve heard it helps with prolonging the life of the shoes. My new shoes are bright blue and coral and they make me smile on my runs.

IMG_2187two One of my dearest friends is coming to visit this next week. I’m excited to have our first guest over a holiday! We’re planning on making brunch featuring Dungeness Crab Eggs Benedict and then grilling steaks for dinner. Should be a fun and alternative holiday. I’m super excited about her visit and can’t wait to have a lazy friendsgiving week with her.

IMG_2183three I’ve been struggling with motivation for my runs. It’s hard to admit because I was so excited about this marathon originally. A couple of months ago we had a visitor who made snide comments about marathon runners. He basically said that if you don’t place that there’s no point in running. Obviously it’s a stupid statement. But it really messed with my head. I’m not a fast runner. I was thrilled to manage a sub 12 minute pace on my 7 mile run today. I will be far from the first person across that finish line. But, whatever my pace, I will run. The only way that visitor will win, is if I quit running. Tonight, somewhere between miles two and four I decided that he can only make me feel inferior with my consent. And tonight, during those miles, I took away that consent. No, I’m not fast, but that’s okay. I’m still out there running and that’s really the point.

IMG_2200four I’ve had pretty bad luck with preschools this year. First I had one run out on me right at the beginning of the semester. Then I found a new one that seemed very promising. Only to have them change everything after the initial interview. I’ve jumped through quite a few hoops for them. And, now they’re pushing me to give them my lesson plans and songs. I told them I wouldn’t because it’s my intellectual property and because people pay good money for curriculum. I offered instead to give them a sample lesson plan that explains my basic methodology. At first they said it would work. But, now they’re insisting that I provide all of the songs that I plan on using in my lesson plans. They keep saying it was all in the contract, only problem is that they still haven’t given me a contract and nor have I signed it. Here’s hoping we’ll come to amicable solution.

IMG_2194-0five I’m really looking forward to the next six weeks or so. I’ll have a reduced teaching load plus three weeks off thanks to my trip to Texas for the race and the holidays. I’m looking forward to the break. It’s been non-stop going for me for the last several months. Truthfully, we didn’t take a true vacation this year and I’m definitely feeling it. B’s vacation time next year isn’t until September, so I’m definitely excited about these next few weeks of decreased lessons and time off.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo2015. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

