NaBloPoMo 2015: Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award

Thanks to the lovely San, who nominated me for this. I think this is the first time I’ve ever been nominated (directly or indirectly) for a blogger style award. I’ve seen them go around, and I’m excited to get a chance to answer the questions she provided. Also, I find it awesome that she was nominated by an American expat who lives in Germany when she’s a German expat living in the US and I used to be an expat living in Germany. The world is a small place, especially when you blog.

The Rules are as follows:

1. Provide a link and thank the blogger who nominated you for this award.
2. Answer the questions (s)he proposed.
3. Nominate other bloggers for the award.
4. Ask these bloggers 10 questions.

And here are my answers to San’s questions.

1.  What is your guilty pleasure?

Reading wedding boards to look at pictures of real weddings. I started doing it when we were planning our vow renewal and it’s still one of my favorite things to do. I’m a sucker for people in love and looking in on the pictures of dresses, venues, decor, etc makes me happy.
2. If I were to ask your family and friends, what would they say is one word that describes you?

When I was younger, I was told that my picture was in the dictionary to define the word exuberant. I went all in on everything and didn’t hide my enthusiasm for anything. Sadly, I became more guarded as I realized that it didn’t always serve me well. Most recently, a student of mine told their Mom that I was clearly meant to be a teacher because I was so good at it.
3. What is one of your blogging pet peeves?

Sponsored posts. I understand that blogging sometimes means pairing up and doing a sponsored post. And I don’t necessarily mind them when they’re thoughtfully done. But, let’s face it, they’re almost never thoughtfully done. I always feel like I’m reading an infomercial. Even worse is when the writing is clearly not the bloggers normal style and is far inferior in quality.
4. When was a time in your life when you took a chance? 

When I quit two highly lucrative jobs to run off to North Dakota to live with my boyfriend of seven and a half months. I left behind my friends and family much to the chagrin of many of them. I’ll never forget telling my Mom that B had asked me to move in with him and her telling me that it was a chance I couldn’t pass up on. She was right. The last five years of being married have been amazing.
5. What is one activity you like to do for self-care?

Go for a long run, take a hot shower and then settle in for a Netflix binge. They tend to come as a package deal, but it’s one of my favorite ways to take care of myself. The run pounds away all of the negatives, the shower washes away the stress, and the Netflix binge serves as a warm hug from a longtime friend.
6. Brunch or dinner?

Brunch. We don’t do it often, which makes it all the more special when we do. Some of my most memorable meals are brunches. Plus, bottomless mimosas make the world go round.
7. If you could live in any country for a while, where would you want to live?

I would most likely pick to go back to Germany. It’s probably my favorite place I’ve ever lived. Japan and New Zealand are also on my short list, but my love of travel makes me want to live in Europe again. I also know from our time living in Turkey that being restricted on how much I can travel makes me antsy. Besides, German food is some of my favorite in the world and the people are just the best.
8. What is the best piece of advice anyone has ever given you?

That you can either be right or you can be happy. I have a tendency to dig in during arguments, especially with my husband. But, the truth is, that being right doesn’t make me happy. It’s mostly helpful because I can focus on one tiny thing that I am right about and browbeat my point until we both are miserable. It’s something I’m still working on, but I’m trying to choose being happy.
9. What’s your favorite pair of shoes?

Either my Ravenna 6 running shoes or my flip flops. I’ve dealt with a lot of of problems from running shoes in the past and the Brooks Ravenna 6 shoes are the best I’ve ever owned. They help with my mild pronation, but are lightweight and feel excellent on my stride. If I’m not running, then I prefer to be in flip flops. I’ve never liked the feel of shoes on my feet, so flip flops are the closest I get to being barefoot. Plus, I teach barefoot a lot, so flip flops are easy on and off as I enter student’s homes.
10. Recommend one of your favorite blogs.

I read a lot of good blogs, but perhaps one that I find the most underrated is Domestic Imperfection. Ashley is a DIY enthusiast (they’re building their own house right now) on a budget. Plus she has really cute kids. She keeps things real and I like that her house feels like a real home and not something styled for a magazine.

I’m nominating Germana from btchonheels, Katelin from Pretty Sandy Feet, Amanda from The Jazzy Olive, and Meg from Pretty Active. Plus anyone else who wants to play along.

My questions:

  1. What is your favorite meal to cook?
  2. Would you rather vacation at the beach, in the mountains, or in a big city?
  3. Who is your favorite author?
  4. Do you speak a foreign language? If so, what language? If not, do you wish you did?
  5. Would you rather work three 12 hour shifts, four 10 hour shifts, or 5 eight hour shifts a week?
  6. Are you a morning person or a night owl?
  7. What is your favorite drink?
  8. Which sounds more appealing to you: living super frugally so you can retire young or indulging now and retiring at a normal age?
  9. What is your favorite social media platform?
  10. How do you feel about Christmas decorations and music before Thanksgiving?
About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo2015 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

