NaBloPoMo 2015: Running Update

In four weeks I will be running my first half marathon. I’m so excited for the experience. Last Sunday, I ran ten miles without a single pause or walk break. That was such an incredible break through for me. Prior to that I hadn’t run more than six miles without needing a walk break. Now? I know I will finish no matter what. I’m pretty pumped.

The rest of this past week though? Not so good. My sleeping has sucked and besides a 2.5 mile run yesterday and a 4.5 mile run today, I didn’t run at all this week. I’m giving myself grace because this switch in schedules has been nightmarish for me.

Honestly, I’m struggling hard with B’s switch to nights. I’m  tired of talking and writing about it, but the reality is that it’s a major upheaval in our lives. I almost cried on Saturday when one of my client’s offered to trade numbers with me because she could commiserate with the rough schedule.

I can’t really control whether I’ll sleep at night or not. I’m a light sleeper on good nights and B being gone means I’m sleeping lighter than normal. I go back to bed to sleep with him when he comes home in the morning and that 2-ish hour nap on my part is often my only solid sleep.

Not sleeping has really thrown my running game. I’m not getting up until late morning, which has caused my runs to get bumped to the evenings. Which is a precarious choice. Because I really have to talk myself into running some evenings. Like tonight. The last words I told B before he left was that I wasn’t running. And then I ran anyway.

I feel like that’s the theme of this half marathon training. Life has been constantly in upheaval between us buying a house, moving, and now the schedule change. But I’m running anyway. And honestly, to me that’s the best thing. No matter what happens on the day of the half marathon, I’ll be running anyway.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaBloPoMo 2015: Running Update

  1. San says:

    Wow, you go girl… that’s amazing. I’ve been working myself up to a 10k race (in two weeks) since this summer and you’re going straight to the half-marathon. That’s quite impressive. Do you have a time goal or do you “just want to finish”?

    • Somehow I never even thought about anything other than jumping off the deep end and going for the half. It helps that I have a sister in law who runs them and has been encouraging me the whole way.

      I haven’t set a time goal. Realistically it will take me just over 2.5 hours to run. Instead my goal is to run the whole thing without any walk breaks. I’m not fast right now, but I figure that can come after this half.

Leave a Reply

