Five for Friday, v. 23

One of these days I’ll start a post without talking about what a week it has been. Maybe. Or maybe not. I mean, honestly, I’m happy that life keeps happening. I wouldn’t take it any other way. Though, I still think that maybe a slowdown wouldn’t be so bad. I’m just not sure we would know what to do if life wasn’t constantly rocking and rolling us along.

IMG_2144

i’ll miss this view when it’s gone

one We work really hard to make sure that we take advantage of living in LA. From enjoying the gorgeous weather to soaking in the atmosphere to running on the beach, we’re trying to make sure we take full advantage of everything LA has to offer us. Last Friday we ran on the beach with Loki. Today, we purchased tickets to go see Spectre on opening night at the Chinese Theater. We saw Mad Max there back in May and I made B promise me that we would go see the major releases there. It’s such a cool experience – on the IMAX in the theater where they premiere the movies – and it’s such an only Hollywood thing to do. It will make for a long day next Thursday, but I’m super excited.

at the aquarium

at the aquarium

two Speaking of taking advantage of where we live, we did a day date on Tuesday to go to the Aquarium of the Pacific. I think my favorite part of our combined schedules is the ability to go do things on random days at random times. There is something luxurious about taking a morning to go explore when most people are working. Of course, this is balanced by us working when most people are off. Still, it’s kind of like waking up and being at home when people on the East Coast are at work – even though they’re home well before I’m done working, it still feels luxurious. Also, it’s less crowded at places when we go during the work day. Which is definitely a win-win all around.

my precious

my precious

three I have a lot of feelings surrounding my rings. I loved my little solitaire that we bought in way too much of a rush. And then I replaced it with a larger, man-made stone. Neither decision there is a popular one. I was left with my little diamond that haunted me from it’s box. I don’t believe in owning things that I don’t use, so I knew that I would either have to reset it or sell it. Earlier this year, I found a ring on Gemvara that I thought would be perfect for resetting my stone. Only, I wanted to tweak the design. I reached out to David Klass, an amazing custom jeweler here in LA to customize the design. In less than a month, he took my scattered concepts and turned them into a gorgeous ring. I’m so happy with how it turned out. I ended up naming my rings too. My moissanite solitaire is Inara, because she’ll take your insults and make you ashamed for having made them. The rose gold diamond ring is Kaylee, because she’s pretty and cute with surprising depth hidden beneath the surface.

my loves

my loves

four B’s schedule changes this weekend. He’s switching over to nights for the next two months. Nights are interesting in our house. My job has a lot of flexibility in time, and I mostly work afternoons and evenings, but I do have two early mornings a week. Which means we’re currently figuring out how nights will work for us. Mostly it’s me staying up later than I should and being a bit of a zombie the next day. In the true spirit of Murphy’s Law, last week I asked to shift my schedule over and had it work out surprisingly well. This week, we got B’s schedule for the next month and of course, he’s mostly off across the three days that I work. Because how else would it go? Luckily, I know we’re planning for the long term when he can ask for certain days off each month and my having a weekend will be very good then. Even if right now, it kind of sucks.

selfie city

selfie city

five I’m still working on engaging in better self care. Running most of my run days but taking rests when I need them. Asking for the days I need to work. Scheduling girl’s nights. I tend to be way too hard on myself. As the song goes, My name is Blurry Face and I care what you think. Way too much. I have to work to accept myself and my quirks. I wish I didn’t care, but part of accepting myself is accepting that I do care. I care when people hate things that I like. I care when people cast general judgement on things that I’ve done. I care way too much. I’m working on caring less about the things that don’t matter, but that’s a pretty big change for me.

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

