Five for Friday, v. 22

Oh what a week it has been. Lot of changes rolled in this week. B is almost done with his current cycle of work, which means that he’ll see a major change in schedule come in November. I’ve been working a 2-1-1-1-1-1 for the last two to three months and it’s as exhausting to work as it is to type out. Thus, I’m in the process of shifting my schedule over as well to accommodate having two days off in a row. I learned my lesson and as awesome as it sounds to have every other day off, it’s not awesome in practice.

IMG_2069one Facebook has been showing me all my memories this week. Most of them involve Loki as an adorable little fluff ball, which is making me nostalgic for his sweet little puppy legs and nose. See also, I now have puppy fever. Some people get baby fever, but I get puppy fever. And I’ve honestly had it since we decided to buy the house. Only, I know that logically now is not a good time to get a puppy. We’re hoping for next summer, so until then I will gaze longingly at Loki’s puppy photos.

IMG_2061two I’m in the process of changing my schedule, which means giving up my room in the church one day a week.  The funny thing is, I’m just learning that the studio owner and one of the other teachers think this room is haunted. Every week, after I finish teaching, I close the room down by lowering and closing the blinds and locking up behind myself. Every week, she comes in the next day to opened blinds and chairs randomly scattered around the room. The church swears that no one goes into the room between us, but then how does everything get messed up? This next week I’ll be taking pictures of how I leave the room and we’ll see what happens from there. But, I’m glad to be leaving that room behind.

IMG_2059three I discovered Worst Cooks in America this past week on Netflix. I’m saddened that they only had three seasons of it, because it was highly entertaining to watch. It was also inspiring. Because they show some pretty simple ways of making awesome food. We decided to make Salmon burgers this week, by grinding up our own salmon and then mixing in our own seasoning. I don’t have a meat grinder, so we improvised with the grating attachment to my Kitchen Aid. They actually turned out really well and I can’t wait to keep experimenting.

IMG_2063four This was honestly a rough week for me. I don’t do well with asking for change. Even though it was well received, I was stressed asking for it and it caused me to function on a lower level in several ways. One thing I’m working on in myself is that I have a very short fuse these days. I miss the me who was slow to anger and quick to get over things. I’m not entirely sure how to go about getting back there, but at least I’ve acknowledged that it’s something I need to work on.

A835E1D6-DF86-4CE7-80A3-D227E4FE7490

five These shutters are by far the highlight of this week. Living without window coverings sucks. We taped up blackout curtains in our bedroom so we could sleep, but all our other windows were wide open. On the front side of the house, this isn’t really a problem because it’s all construction, but on the back side? We have a neighbor who is fond of walking around unclothed. Which, cool – his house, his business. I’m just glad our HOA requires window coverings. We fell in love with the plantation shutters back when we stayed with B’s parents. But, we knew we didn’t want to pay the builder for them. We also decided we didn’t want to pay to have them installed. I’ll admit that I was terrified of installing them, but after doing the first three, I’m glad we made that choice. One, I feel super accomplished having hung them ourselves. Two, we saved a ton of money going the DIY route. And three, it’s fun to look at them and know that we did it ourselves.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five for Friday, v. 22

  1. atkokosplace says:

    Puppies, ghosts, DIY….awesome! Hahaha. You play the violin?! That’s so cool. Hope you have an amazing weekend! :) Happy fall, Koko

  2. I just hung curtains after three months without anything covering my windows, & IT IS SUCH A RELIEF. I want blinds – I have them, actually – but I can’t seem to get them hung up properly. Maybe after winter… when I can get someone to do it for me. :)

  3. San says:

    I love plantation shutters! Yours look awesome!
    I am glad you worked up the courage to ask for a schedule change… I know how hard it is to ask for simple things sometimes!

    • Thanks so much! They are really great and we’re so happy with them.

      I’m kind of sad at how hard it was to ask for the change, but I’m so excited to be getting it put into place.

Leave a Reply

