Five for Friday, v. 21

It’s been a hell of a day. Started off on a high note with a three mile run followed by a trip to David Klass’s Jewelry store in the LA Jewelry District. And then I came home to wait for our shutters to be delivered. Only to be told almost a half hour after the delivery window that not only had they never loaded our items onto the truck for delivery, but also that we would have to wait until Monday to reschedule the delivery. Needless to say, that’s put a damper onto my weekend outlook. On the flip side, we now have Sunday back to just do what we want since we won’t be hanging our shutters.

IMG_2045one Today marks four years since Loki joined our family. He was such a cute, little fluff ball. It’s a good thing too, because he was also a pain in my butt for those first few days/nights at home. I wasn’t totally sure I was ready to have a dog, but now I couldn’t imagine life without him. The only downside is that looking at all these cute puppy photos is making me really want to go out and get another puppy.

0475BAEB-E61D-47FC-BF6E-481E926EF4BF

two Sometime last week, I ordered a really awesome painting off of one of my flash sale sights. I loved this map from the first moment I glimpsed it. Until it came in. And I realized that there were animals hidden in every continent. So, I busted out some acrylic paint and my paint brushes and took out the animals. Now it’s a nice abstract world map painting that I will be glad to have up on the wall. Even better, where before it was another mass produced canvas, and now it’s an original.

IMG_2027three B’s brother came through town on Wednesday night. We picked him up right at the start of rush hour, so we chose to kill some time walking along the beach. We hadn’t actually seen his brother since our vow renewal last August. That’s probably the biggest con of everyone being military and scattered around the US. It’s hard to get together with each other. I suppose, it’s just part of growing up and moving away.

IMG_2036four I’ve never really been the crafty type. I say this, genuinely, in spite of the fact that I learned how to knit as a young child and was an avid lacer through all of highschool. That stuff, yes. But, making things for my house? Decorating stuff? Not so much. Now that we have a house though, I’m finding that I want to make the things that are decorating it. I figured I would start easy with a burlap door wreath. Only, I had no idea how much burlap would shed nor how itchy all of the little bits of it are. Still, I can’t wait to finish it and get it hanging on our front door.

IMG_2049five My training is still going well for me. I was hungover as could be last Sunday and only ran four of my planned eight miles. But, the rest of the week has felt good and I get another shot at eight miles this weekend. I haven’t decided yet if I’m running it on Saturday or Sunday. My other big project has been working on resetting my original engagement ring into a right hand ring. I dropped the diamond off at the jeweler’s today and also got to approve the wax mold and the topaz that they sourced for me. I’m so excited for the notification that it’s ready that I can’t even.

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five for Friday, v. 21

  1. I bet your wreath will look gorgeous!! I can’t wait to see it!!

  2. Jules @ wandering around says:

    I did 7.5 this morning. Oy!

Leave a Reply

