Five for Friday, v. 20

I can’t believe that the last time I posted one of these, we hadn’t move into our home yet. Actually, we didn’t even have keys. And yet, Sunday will mark our third week in the house. Unsurprisingly, moving in means that all the crazy cosmetic changes have slowed down. I just about exhausted myself prior to the move in to get everything done and then after the big move-in day took a break. Today was my first day back at painting since we’ve moved in, besides posting a ton of sample colors on the walls of the living room. It turns out that the pros know what they’re talking about and you should look at colors in your space because our house brings out the intensity of every color we bring in. So my soft white-blue-gray walls are baby blue. Good thing it looks alright in the guest bedroom.

IMG_1934

one B grabbed that raggedy teddy bear off the side of the street on one of his last runs at our apartment. Loki needed the comfort. It became his lifeline during the move. Every time I grabbed another suitcase or hauled something else out of the apartment he would go grab his teddy bear and sit and hold it by the door. Once we moved in, the teddy became his solace during all the chaos. It’s pretty cute that if we bring in any boxes, which happens a lot since we’re still moving, that he grabs his teddy from wherever it is in the house to hold onto. I’m grateful he’s doing well with the move and can’t wait to see how he does when we don’t pack up and move 6-12 months down the road.

IMG_1919

two A friend of ours sent us a Keurig as a house warming gift. I was completely blown away by the gift. And I’ve been having way too much fun figuring out how to make my ideal cup of coffee. It came with a bunch of sample k-cups, but I also bought a reusable filter because coffee. My Mom sent me some of their favorite coffee, that I love drinking with them and I’m exited to make my first cup of that. Of course, the reusable k-cup has proven to be the most challenging to figure out thus far. The manufacturer suggestion is way too strong and I’ve been playing around with how much makes my ideal cup of coffee. Using cheap coffee because I don’t want to waste a single ground of what my Mom sent.

IMG_1911three Art has always been my metric of being home. I’ve had the above hand-inked map of Middle Earth since my first apartment in college with my sister. It’s anchored my living rooms, dining rooms, and now our game room. I couldn’t imagine a more perfect place for it than our cozy entertainment room. I have a gorgeous piece hanging in our living room upstairs that belonged to my grandfather that has hung in every living room I’ve lived in since graduate school. These two pieces are my way of signalling that I’m home. Both are already on our walls. In addition, we’ve collected art together and some of those are also up. Once we hung what we have, we realized that our dining room needed a big piece to help anchor it. So, we found an awesome semi-abstract world map painting that is on its way to us and I am so excited. Paint and art really are taking us from builder empty house, to home.

IMG_1953

four One of my favorite parts about B and I’s jobs is that we both end up with weekdays off. It’s been a lot of fun to feel like we’re playing hooky from life by being home during the week. This past week we both had Wednesday off and we took advantage by taking Loki down to the beach. There’s nothing like spending part of a morning letting your dog run wild in the surf of the Pacific Ocean. It’s definitely a lifestyle that we’ve been chasing for a long while. When B first talked about transitioning out of the AF and started applying to all kinds of jobs we had a long talk about what we wanted life to look like. And here we are, living what we wanted. Weekdays off, great hours, a home we love, and an awesome city/area to explore.

IMG_1916five I feel like I’m finally starting to find myself again. It’s been a long journey. But, I’m back into teaching music and loving my job. I spend four days a week teaching private lessons and preschool music classes and I enjoy all of it. I’m running for the first time in my life and every step feels like an exclamation of how happy I am. There are still things I want to work on, like building a network of friends, cutting down my commute, and of course actually finishing this half marathon. But. For the first time in a long time, I feel like myself. Who knew that the girl who loved moving around was just in need of some roots and some sunshine?

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

