Half Marathon Training Update

Well I’m just totally failing at weekly training updates. It was fun at first to recap every run as soon as I finished. And then we started moving. Along with the move, my runs started having to be flexible as I didn’t always have time to run on the days I was supposed to. I always managed at least three runs a week, including my long run every week.

Six weeks ago, I struggled to run continuously for three miles. I had to take walk breaks, I didn’t finish runs, and when I did finish I felt like I was dying. Today, I ran six miles without a single break. I was tired when I was finished, but not dying.

Which, I guess is to say that this training stuff works.

The first thing that I’ve noticed is that, obviously, my stamina is increasing. I’m not feeling tired or like I have to push to maintain my pace until after four miles. Which, is incredible. I can run for four miles before I feel like it becomes work.

My second observation has to do with pacing. The runs where I want to throw up at the end and have to take walk breaks and feel like I’m dying? I ran all of them at way too fast of a pace. I’m not fast – my average is consistently around 11:45, but that’s okay. I’m not trying to win the race. I’m trying to finish it. I’m planning to start pushing myself a bit on my three mile runs to see if I can’t speed up, but I’m listening to my training plan and running my long runs at an easy to maintain pace. Which is mostly slower than 11:30.

I’m already looking to the next races that I want to run. B is training for a relay race with his work and is talking about running a race here in SoCal at the end of January. I’m thinking that after I do this half, that I want to go down to 10k and 5k distances and work on my speed. And then aim for another half next fall. But, I mostly just want to keep running.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half Marathon Training Update

  1. San says:

    Hooray! This is great progress. It’s amazing how fast the body adapts to regular exercise! May I ask what training plan you follow?

  2. Jules @ wandering around says:

    Yay! Are you doing any cross training as well? I got really injured in my first half marathon, largely because I hadn’t cross trained. For my second I did pilates and barre once a week for the last 9 weeks and it made a HUGE difference. Keep up the good work!

    • I am! I’m weightlifting 1-2x a week. I’ve always been big on lifting, so it’s not something I would ever give up completely. And, if I run without lifting, I find that my knees and legs hurt more.

Leave a Reply

