A Reminder

IMG_1838I sat on the floor after class was over and the students were all gone. I sat on the floor, sipped my drink, all while relishing the brief silence. I sat on the floor, looked at class rosters, and sang to myself. I sang the songs for Saturday’s class, working on tempo, rhythm, and pitch. I sang the songs from today’s class, thinking how to rework them for next week. I sat on the floor, singing to myself, and remembered.

Half an hour later, she asked me a simple question. This little violin student of mine who tells me that violin is so hard but push ups are super easy. This precious student that I get to teach each week brings me pictures and flowers and smiles. She asked as only the innocent can ask questions, “is this your job?” I told her, with a smile, that it was. She seemed shocked and followed up with an adorable, “you mean people pay you money?” The incredulous tone of her voice made me want to laugh, instead I answered her truthfully that they do.

A quiet reminder after a peaceful moment. This is my job and I get paid to do it. Paid to sing and dance with toddlers and preschoolers. Paid to guide precocious young children along their musical path. Paid to smile, laugh, and share my deepest passion.

Ask me if I love my job and I will laugh and tell you yes. Some days more than others. It has it’s ups and downs. All true. So, a reminder that I am incredibly lucky to be paid to do something that I love.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

