SA Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon: Week Two

I still can’t believe that I ran 14 miles during week one. Or that week two will have me running 16. I’m the girl who runs one mile and then walks the rest. I blame Loki, but let’s be real. I am tired of my legs always feeling like jello, does that ever get better?

Run One: A three mile maintenance run. Only, it’s hard for it to feel like an easy maintenance run when it’s still my second longest distance. Three miles is no joke. My hat is off to all the 5k racers. Today I learned yet again about the importance of pacing. I was supposed to run the first two miles easy and then speed up at the end. Did I? Of course not. I decided to just run fast, for me anyway, and see what would happen. Surely my endurance and stamina are way up and I can do that now, right?

I mean, I wasn’t totally wrong. I ran the first mile in 10:50, my new fast pace. The second mile I only slowed down to 11:17. And then I tanked. Hard. The third mile involved the most walk breaks yet and a couple of pauses with my hands on my knees. And clocked in at 12:36. Which is far from a total failure. But I have learned again that I can’t just run fast and hard and make it the whole way. I can make it farther than before, which is good, but I want to be smart. At the same time, how will I ever learn that I’m faster if I don’t push?

Run Two: Five miles, with the middle three being fartleks. The run that didn’t really happen. I was sick the night before, sickish the morning of, and still tried to run. 1.8 miles in, I realized I didn’t have it in me. So I stopped the run, fought the tears, and walked home to grab Loki and take him for a walk. By the time I did all of that, I ended up covering almost 5 miles anyway, but it was by no definition, a run. I have to remind myself that a) I have tons of training time left, and b) running when sick/hurt is not a good idea. I really struggled with being down on myself though, for not finishing the run. This led to me realizing that I have to cut myself some slack, especially as the real training doesn’t start for almost two weeks still. And, even if I miss or stop a run here or there, it doesn’t make me a failure.

Cross-Training: I’m counting our long hike on the beach/run through the sand as this. I didn’t do any dedicated cross-training this week as we had a guest and Tuesday night was spent drinking, so Wednesday was all about the recovery. We did walk on the beach for over an hour that evening, so I figure it’s close enough. My attitude shift means I’m more about going with the flow rather than beating myself up for not doing it right.

Run Three: Three miles. My plan was to run this first thing in the morning. What happened was that I woke up to a phone call from our mortgage broker, called our insurance company, decided to walk Loki and then run, only to again be called by our mortgage broker and insurance company in rapid succession. I had to go home and fix things, which ended up taking a lot of emails, and three more phone calls to somewhat resolve. By then, I had eaten breakfast and lunch. But, I went out for an afternoon run. My only goal was to run every step. And I did. I even managed to speed (back) up on the final mile, after slowing down in the middle. Every step felt good. It was much needed after the disaster of my 5 miler earlier this week.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

