Five for Friday, v. 17

IMG_1791 one I flew home to help host my sister’s baby shower. Did I take a single picture with my sister? Nope. With my Mom? Nope. Of my sister and Mom? Nope. Did I come up with the brilliant idea to take a picture of all the guests with their decorated quilt squares and my sister in time to do so at the shower? Nope. See, I got distracted. My BIL has been refinishing my sister’s childhood dresser for the nursery. He was trying to finish on Saturday and I kicked him off of cleaning at one point to make him eat. And then I couldn’t stop thinking about those damn brass pulls. We finished them that day because I was so invested in getting that dresser up those stairs. I love projects and giving old furniture new life. My BIL did an amazing job with the dresser and I’m so glad I got the chance to help finish it. Even if my hands smelled like vinegar and brass polish for the next 24 hours.

IMG_1782two Friendships are a funny thing. There are people who I was damned sure would always be part of my life who are now no more than facebook acquaintances of mine. And then there’s my BFF, my partner in crime, my soul sister. I quoted Emily Bronte in my wedding vows, “whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.” Well, hers and mine are also the same. Our core essence is the same stuff. I had no clue when I first met her at bible study that this many years later we would still talk almost daily, that we would still visit each other every chance we got. We’re already counting down to our next get together and I am so glad she’s in my life. I’m a better person because of knowing her.

IMG_1797three I missed my boys while I was gone. They really do make my world go round. B is my rock, who pushes me to be the best me. I hope that I’m half as good of a partner to him as he is to me. I came home from a trip away to have him immediately encouraging me to plan the next. And pushing me to start a time consuming hobby to have something for me. Then, even better, he started running with me. We don’t run together, but we run at the same time. And he’s told me he will happily match me on miles as he can. It’s one of those little things that makes me fall even more in love with him. He wants me to be the best me.

IMG_1802four I love my students so much. One of my little fiddle students brought me the above flower at her lesson this past week. The kids that I teach are such an awesome part of my life. I love knowing that I make a difference in their little lives. I love figuring out their learning methods. I love watching them progress. I love the silly stories that they have to tell me. I love that I get to do this thing, where I get to be part of so many lives, and make a difference, no matter how small.

IMG_1798-0five I’ve been a little lost over the last few years. One move after another has ripped me away from my job, my friends, and my routine. I’ve clung tightly to B. Suffocating him. Suffocating us. There was a time that I was out with different friends every night of the week. I miss that. I miss the community of leaning on many people. It isn’t fair to B that I now rely on him for everything. I don’t even really know how to go about making local friends, but I’m going to try. We’re putting down roots here and I’m ready to rebuild my community. My work is taking off, I’m investing in myself with the running, and it’s time to find people besides just my husband to lean on.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five for Friday, v. 17

  1. Jules @ wandering around says:

    I wish there were some magic formula to making local friends. All that stuff people tell you to do, join a running club, go to a cooking class, whatever, never seems to work for me. I always happen upon new friends randomly at unexpected times and in the oddest places. I guess that’s what keeps life interesting, though.

Leave a Reply

