Five for Friday, v.15

brianandiwhataburger

our first photo

one We are three days away from our fifth wedding anniversary. Today’s photos are all throwbacks to the first year we met. I have a lot of thoughts about having been married for five years, but I’ll save that for our actual anniversary. I’ve been digging through old photos recently thanks to my laptop breaking. It’s just the screen but I’m paranoid that they’ll wipe it when I send it in to get it fixed. I don’t trust people easily. Thus, we finally bought me an external hard drive and I’ve been consolidating all of the pictures off of both of my laptops. And, the old laptop actually still has a separate folder with all the pictures from the laptop before it. Thus, the hard drive is currently sporting three computers worth of pictures. I’ll be backed up all the way back to 2006.

signing the papers

signing the papers

two Last Sunday, I made the decision to leave one of the two studios I’ve been teaching for. They have been pulling my students off my schedule ever since they found out we were moving twenty minutes away. Not that they had ever given me a lot. And, I had the other studio plus a preschool gig so I was going to be plenty busy. Ironically, the preschool decided last night after a summer of turmoil to renege on our agreement. I’m now looking for other opportunities, both with the studio I’m still teaching for and at places closer to where we will be moving. Thank goodness we weren’t counting on my income for the mortgage payments. Now I just need to step it up and close the gap on what I was expecting to bring home. I won’t lie, I’m pretty bummed, but I know it’s not a reflection on me at all. The people making the decision never even met me. And honestly, it means I won’t have the chaotic early morning commute, so I really think this will work out in my favor.

holy shit, we're married

holy shit, we’re married

three The last couple of weeks have been really humid here in LA. Like, so humid the radio hosts are joking about swamp butt. Poor Loki has not been doing so well with the extra heat and humidity. He started worrying at his skin a couple of weeks ago and it hasn’t died down. Last week I started him on Benadryl to try and relieve the itching. This week, I turned to google. The suggestions online all said to try the same stuff used for Athlete’s Foot. Which is how I found myself today buying some Tinactin and spraying it on my dog’s butt. He’s got some great shaved patches right around the worst spots as that’s also supposed to help. Poor puppy looks super disreputable right now. I just want my happy, non-itchy puppy back.

grand rapids tour post wedding

grand rapids tour post wedding

four I get to go to Texas next week! And, where I was originally worried about being burned out from all the crazy teaching starting, at least now I’ll have a quieter start to the week. It’s nice because it means I get to hang out with B and celebrate our anniversary before leaving him to his four day work week while I’m gone. I’m going back to celebrate my soon-coming niece. I can’t wait to see family and friends and hopefully relax a little. It’s been a very go-go-go year and with an upcoming move I don’t see it settling down anytime soon. Plus, I have a long list of places to go eat while I’m in Texas. Don’t tell my family, but the food is sometimes the biggest reason I go back. I’m joking, mostly.

IMG_0266

being silly

five My girl-date last weekend went really well. The food and company were both superb. We’ve decided that we want to host some get togethers for the other girlfriends/wives that we know through our guys. We’re going to start with a wine night at one of our places and go from there. We both are pretty sure we’re the only two normal ones of the bunch, so we know that a little wine will go a long way in helping the situation. Or, you know, a lot of wine. We might have an agreement that we’ll get together first to do the set up and, of course, taste the wine. I’ll see her on Tuesday night when we do a double-date for dinner, and will try and hammer out some details then. I can’t wait to host a get together once we’ve moved into our new house, but I also don’t want to necessarily wait that long to get everyone together.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

