Escrow Woes

Being in escrow sucks. All the excitement over buying the house has faded under the irritation of dealing with escrow. No big purchases, no new credit cards/financing, nitpicking only certain financial details – it all feels so frustrating. And I know we have it easy! We went with the builder’s lender because they had the best rates plus incentive money toward the house. At least we aren’t doing all this plus negotiating with a seller. I’m just ready to close and call this place my own.

We’re doubling our square footage, so we’re ready to finally upgrade our furniture. Of course we’ve already started looking, which was probably a terrible idea – do not furniture shop during escrow, you can’t purchase anyway so you may as well wait. Plus, every place we’ve walked into so far has offered to deliver by the end of the day.

It is nice to have pretty much found everything though. I just wish we could go ahead and make the purchases. I’m getting anxious to have the nicer stuff. We’ve picked out a couch, loveseat, and recliner set for our main living room plus we’ll be getting either a second couch or loveseat for down in our game room. Initially I wanted a gigantic sectional with a chaise lounge for upstairs, but I haven’t found any that are more comfortable than their recliner couch counterparts plus the sectionals are way more expensive. I’ve also got a new dining table picked out, I’m ready to graduate away from almost all of our Ikea furniture. The exception being the TV console because the Hemnes console is the bomb dot com.

We also are in the market for a new mattress set. Since we have a guest bedroom that we want to furnish, we’ve decided to stick our queen set in there and get a new queen set for us. I mean, if I’m buying new mattresses, I want to sleep on them and not have them unused for most of the year. We checked out the Tempurpedic Flex Elite, Sleep Number’s i8, and a local store’s Circadian Revive Repose. It is not easy to pick a new mattress, but I think we’ve made the right call in going with the local option. It’s a hybrid coil and memory foam bed like the Flex Elite, but at a significantly better price point.

But, I just want all of it now. Too bad we need to close escrow first. Our mortgage broker called us today as we needed to do some finessing. Since we’re qualifying on B’s income alone, it makes our budget look much tighter to the underwriters. I get this, I understand why we’re not counting my income, but it sucks. It’s frustrating to know their are any hiccups when the truth is that we’re not counting close to, if not more than, half our income. However, once we reminded him that we were making a larger down payment than what he had on record, he said it should all be wrapped up soon. And that while we won’t get official notice until his part is done, that we should be able to close a full week early. Right now, I’m focusing on that.

I don’t want to wish the time away, but I’m ready to be waking up in my new bed in my new house. In the meantime, anyone want to gift me that amazing two hundred dollar pillow that I fell in love with at the mattress store?

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Escrow Woes

  1. The hurry up and wait of life sucks. Hang in there. It is all worth it to get me a nice guest room. :-P

  2. San says:

    This is exciting! One day, when I am ready to buy a house, I’ll have to pick your brain, because this whole house buying business sounds so complicated!!!

Leave a Reply

