Five for Friday, v.14

IMG_1735

one We haven’t even moved in closed yet and I’m already saving all the amazing decorating ideas that I come across. It started as just searching for the type of furniture we wanted in each room, progressed to paint colors, and landed firmly to wallow in holiday decorations. I grew up with a Mom who had a garland for every holiday – nothing fancy, but cute hearts on Valentine’s Day, eggs for Easter, etc. While I don’t have two fireplace mantles to decorate, let alone one, I’m still excited by the idea that I will finally have a house to whip into the spirit of the season. We will actually have space for a Christmas tree, a patio for lights, and hopefully trick or treaters to greet from our door. I’m drooling over the gorgeous options currently available on Zulily, but as I have no desire to receive and then pack and move anything more than what we currently own, I’ll be waiting for any shopping sprees until after we’re settled.

IMG_1725two Today marks four weeks since B graduated his training academy and hit the streets. Thanks to some pretty awesome scheduling, he didn’t actually start work for almost a week, but still he graduated a month ago. It’s been an interesting month, to say the least, and I hope we’re taking good steps toward making the most of this crazy life. It only took his first day for him to earn 5 hours of OT, so I’m working on adapting to never knowing if he will join me for dinner or not. I’ve learned that a rum and coke (or two) definitely help me relax while waiting. I’ve also remembered that google is not my friend and that if something bad happens that’s not how I want to find out. I’m working on filling my time up so that I don’t just end up sitting at home on my days off waiting to see if he’ll get off of work on time or not. Because, spoiler alert, that never happens.

IMG_1730three We picked out our flooring last week (was it really only a week ago?) which was a fun experience. In the above photo, the darkest wood sample is the cabinets they’ve already installed along with the granite counters and the kitchen and bathroom back splashes – we didn’t pick those, just lucked into a house that may as well have been designed for us. As we walked with our designer to start picking samples, B told her that I was the picky one. The funny part being that he actually made the final decision on all three surfaces. The tile we agreed on completely, though he did nix one that I liked as being too busy. The carpet, I didn’t care about at all, other than wanting it to not be too light so that was totally his decision. The hard flooring? We were a bit at odds on. I liked a laminate option that had some beautiful color variation and gave off an awesome farmhouse vibe. He liked the vinyl option we settled on. At one point I asked him to rank them both on a scale of one to ten and that was all it took. He definitely disliked my favorite way more than I favored it over his pick. Plus, since his pick is vinyl planking, it gets laid just like hardwood – no transitions. It was a total win. Now I’m just dying to see it all in place. The funniest part was after we made all the decisions, the designer told us that we had the best communication skills she’d seen in a long while.

IMG_1733four As part of my self-care plan while B works long hours, I’m meeting a girl for lunch tomorrow. One thing I know about myself is that I absolutely loathe staying home all day by myself. Like, it is the worst thing ever in my humble opinion. It doesn’t take much to make me happy, a quick meal out or teaching a quick class is enough, but not having that feels like drowning to me. Thus, knowing how long the weekend days are for me, I actually made plans. We’re trying a new to both of us restaurant and the best part is that even if it sucks, we’ll have fun doing so.

IMG_1734five We keep getting asked why now when we mention buying a house. Why not wait. Why not take more time. Why this place. It’s hard to answer. I mean, our original plan was to wait longer – another year to start looking. But, we didn’t want to pass this opportunity up. We’re getting a brand new build at phase one pricing.  And we’ve never had a place to truly call home. We’ve moved everywhere – North Dakota, Germany, Turkey, North Dakota, and California in less than five years. Our longest stint was the two years in Turkey where our house was owned by the government and we had to get approval to make any changes. Other than that, we’ve rented. I think we both finally realized how tired we are of not having a place to call our own. So why now? Why not wait? Because we were ready and the time was right and our hearts long for home.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five for Friday, v.14

  1. Meg says:

    My mom has all the holiday decor too! She always tries to pass it on to me and as much as I’d love to have a festive place, it’s hard to find space to store it all for the other 11 months of the year when I move around and now am in a tiny place! Where did you meet your lady date? I don’t so much mind being home alone or even exploring alone, but I’ve recently realized I need some girlfriends! Also, I love the family pic – you holding B, B holding Loki!

    • She’s the significant other of one of B’s coworkers. I’m not very original in finding girlfriends.

      And thanks! I was inspired by the myriad of “follow me” photos and wanted one for us. Haha.

Leave a Reply

