Alternative Cleaning Methods

I should probably preface this by saying that I really don’t like cleaning. I’m the type of person that tends to just ignore clutter until I snap and then I will rage clean until everything is cleaner than when it was brand new. I keep things sanitary  clean, but I will ignore piles of paper or shoes not where they should be or clean clothes still being in the baskets while dirty ones pile up on the floor. Again, until I just can’t take it and then everything must be in it’s place.

This worked for me in college. Probably because I lived with my sister and she was better at ignoring a mess than I was. But, we both wanted to be better at keeping things clean. After all, we had no plans to continue living together for the rest of our lives. We came up with a routine, that I have subconsciously continued ever since.

I bribe myself to clean.

Yep. I’m thirty, and I’m admitting that I have to talk myself into cleaning. If guests aren’t imminent, I tend to let things slide. We do the dishes every night, I tend to clean the kitchen every time I cook as I hate cooking in an even slightly grungy kitchen. But, I hate using my off days to clean. And I hate using B’s off time to clean. Especially when his off days are still partial work days for me.

Thus, bribery.

I put on an awesome tv show (today it was Fixer Upper on HGTV.com) and make myself a beverage. Every time a show ends, before I can start the next episode and make a fresh beverage I have to do an item on my chore list. Today those items were, deep clean the kitchen, sweep, mop, and vacuum, and run some laundry. Sure, it wouldn’t have taken me long to do those all straight, but by sticking them in-between episodes, I preserved the feel of a relaxing Saturday while still getting everything done.

I guess this is adulting at the finest. I’m getting things done, but on my terms. And that is the best part of being an adult. Figuring out what works for me and then doing that. Regardless of how anyone else would do it. So I clean, while sipping a relaxing drink and watching tv.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

