Five for Friday, v.13

2015-07-14 11.38.07one It has been a hectic week around here. Turns out that deciding to buy a house takes up all of your free time. There are the long phone calls with the bank and the mortgage broker to make sure we get the best deal. There are the hours devoted to researching VA loans to find out if that’s the best option. There are the countless houses perused online while tweaking search options to somehow make the magical unicorn house appear. There’s the meeting with the realtor that started a half hour late and then ran for two and a half hours that left you exhausted and not that excited. And of course, it wouldn’t be me unless there were hours laying awake at night thinking about all the changes to come.

2015-07-23 16.23.10two I first found this painting on Pinterest a couple of months back. I fell in love, but of course it was long gone from the flash sale site. I signed up for notices for if it came back and tried to forget about it. I love the riot of color and I adore that the silhouette includes a puppy. The night we discussed buying a house this year, I received an email notification that it was back on sale. I jokingly told B it could be our housewarming present to ourselves. He agreed. We ordered it. It came in the day after we signed the papers for what will hopefully be our house. It feels symbolic to me, in a strange way that this whole time of year does now. This is the time of year for my whirlwind new beginnings. I am so excited.

2015-07-19 10.27.09three Confession time, I have a terrible relationship with money and anxiety. There was a time, when I was in graduate school, in my last semester actually that I wasn’t sure I would be able to pay all my bills. See, the school made a mistake during the fall aid disbursement and gave me more grant money than they were supposed to – essentially they gave me just for the fall what should have been for the whole year. It was fully their fault. But, they chose to fix it by just not giving me any grant money during the spring semester. At night, when I wasn’t awake thinking about the work that needed to be done to finish my thesis, I would run my budget. I would start with my current balance in my account and then add each expected check and subtract each pending bill based on the date I thought it would show up. Down and slightly up and then more down the numbers would go in my head. I left Houston a couple of months early, the day after I finished my last test to move in with friends because I had no money. I completed my move into their home with less than 25 dollars in my checking account and less than 100 free on my credit card. Even though I am, thankfully, far removed from that reality now, the truth is that whenever big purchases come up, I get anxious. No surprise then that this is in full swing with buying a house.

2015-07-22 11.03.48four I had decided against these town homes before we ever went back to see them again. They were too far away, the commute would be too difficult for me – it didn’t matter how nice they were, I wasn’t having it. Then, on the morning we were due to go back and check them out, our realtor emailed us our first house. It was a 4 bed, 2 bath home with only 1400 square feet. It wasn’t in any of our agreed upon cities, instead it bordered a rather infamous for it’s crime part of the city. And then we walked into the kitchen pictured above. I’m pretty sure I squealed over that luxurious backsplash. The reality is, these town homes are way nicer than anything else we can afford. As to my commute? I’ll just get up a little early and go to the gym before my classes so that I beat the traffic and get my sweat on. It’s a win-win. Plus, that kitchen will be mine.

2015-07-22 14.27.40five One week. In one week we went from definitely buying a house next year, to possibly buying one this year, to signing paperwork. I’m dreaming of paint colors, new furniture, and decorating for the holidays. I’m excited to think about finally having a home where we can finally host our friends. I’m picturing forever, not just with my beloved but in a home. I’m planning for our future in sunny, beachy SoCal. Life happens in the small moments and I cannot wait to create memories of these little moments in our new home.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five for Friday, v.13

  1. San says:

    Very excited about your house news! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

