Crossing That Bridge

We are in the midst of my favorite time of year. Five years ago I was preparing to move to North Dakota and diving headfirst into the adventure of life. In the perfect sense of full circle, if everything goes right then roughly around the five year mark of us moving to Germany (just a couple of months away) we will be moving into our own home. In spite of my having looked at homes since well before we moved, I thought we were somehow much farther away from this day than we now are.

We talk about this being a 5-10 year home. Somewhere we can make our own. A place we can live and love and then sell when need be. It’s funny, after crossing the milestone of hitting thirty this summer, the fact that I’m looking to not be moving/selling/buying again until 35-40 doesn’t really compute.

I mean, in the next 5-10 years, where will we even be? Still happy and content in SoCal? On to the next big adventure? Will we have children or will we have decided once and for all to be child free? Will we still have this home or will we have won the metaphorical (or literal) lottery and have our town home on the beach?

When it comes to problems in life, people discuss crossing the bridge only when you have to do so. Don’t worry about it until you must. I think it holds for more than that. We’re currently crossing the bridge of buying our first home. It is terrifying and exhilarating at the same time. It’s probably the best ride we’ve been on since we ran off and got married 5 years ago.

We’ll cross the bridge of children later. We’ll cross the bridge of career choices later. We’ll just keep living, one day at a time. Eventually, we’ll wake up and realize we’re on the bridge and then we’ll cross it.

We didn’t plan to buy a home any time soon. This bridge slipped up and surprised me. It’s an amazing place to be. I was so busy living life that I wasn’t worried about what I was supposed to be doing at thirty. I think sometimes, the numbers become so big that we focus on what should be accomplished and we forget to relish the living in the small moments.

I have no idea what the future holds for us. I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

