About the Journey

I’ve heard it said many times that it’s all about how you get there and not where you’re going. My family used to vacation with this mentality – we towed a travel trailer and our vacations were meandering road trips. Nothing was too small to result in a detour. We had no set itinerary. Because it was all about the journey.

It’s a great life philosophy too. Because, of course, the journey of life ends only in death. I doubt most of us want to actually rush our way to that destination. Making life the ultimate journey.

I’m still working on enjoying every part of the journey. It’s easy to get bogged down and wish for certain times to be over. Like B’s current training academy. We just want him to be done. Or, more personally for me, my ongoing quest to lose weight. I keep getting down to close to my goal and then slacking off and gaining it back. After a rather unhappy moment during B’s swearing in ceremony, I realized I had to quit beating around the bush and actually put the work in. And, I’m trying to embrace the fact that this is a journey without a destination. Just because I get to the lower weight, the higher fitness level, or what have you, doesn’t mean that my journey is over. The journey is never over, because life is in the living.

And the living is in every moment. Dull ones, painful ones, joyful ones, that’s where the living happens. In the small moments. It’s a lesson I’m still learning. Which, I suppose is the entire point.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

