Swing Shifts

Swing shift, how I love thee, let me count the ways.

1. We get to stay up later. Swings means B doesn’t get home until sometime between 11pm and 1am (depending on which version of the schedule he’s on) so we stay up to somewhere between 1am and 3am. Even if we sleep for the exact same amount of hours as when we go to bed at 9pm or 10 pm, it feels more luxurious to wake up later.

2. It fits my body’s rhythms. I rarely fall asleep before midnight. Rarely. Cold medicine helps some, though then I’m often left awake during the witching hours anyway. I can easily get by on only 6-7 hours of sleep, as long as you don’t expect me up before eight in the morning. When I go to bed with B at 9pm? I still don’t want to get up any earlier.

3. We get to share our mornings together. Since my schedule is mostly mid-afternoons into early evenings, it’s nice to be able to wake up, eat lunch together and then spend the late nights together.

4. I don’t have to sleep without him. That’s the one downside to mids shift. He’s gone all night, so even when he is home, he’s probably not in bed for many overlapping hours with me. I miss falling asleep with him, so the swings schedule is particularly grand because he gets the benefit of working the later shift and we still get to sleep on primarily the same schedule.

Too bad he’s only on swings for the rest of this week. Then it’s back to his regular schedule. And then comes the unknown.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swing Shifts

  1. So glad you guys are getting to spend some time together.

    • Thanks! Me too! I know when he switches schedules in a month that there will be no guarantees to how much time we have together. So, I’m glad we’re getting a little more right now.

Leave a Reply

